We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Property and Hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillgrove B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillgrove B&B
Ranked #47 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Property and Hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

The landscaping is gorgeous and the home is lovely. Margaret is very gracious and serves a delicious breakfast. It is quiet and has wonderful views.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hillgrove Bed & Breakfast was a delight. The food was homemade, authentic, and delicious. Margaret was a wonderful host and we felt very welcomed. The rooms were clean and well equipped, parking was also easy in and out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The location is just a couple of minutes outside the busy town of Kilkenny. Quiet location and easy parking compared to staying in town. We loved it here.

Margaret's French toast is covered with an entire banana and it is site to behold and to eat. We just loved it.

A great place to stay in the country and so close to the city and Kells Priory, Waterford, Kilkenny Castle, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Once again this year we stayed at the Hillgrove. Margaret and Tony are great, and the breakfast is super. Lots of fruit/cereal available on the sideboard and a really good full Irish. Also give the porridge with Irish Mist a try!! The Hillgrove is located outside of Kilkenny but a very short direct drive into town. It is a lovely and very clean B&B and we would stay there again and recommmend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great room, great breakfast, wonderful hosts...beautiful countryside setting, just outside of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo,Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was the 4th time we've stayed in Margaret and Tony's beautiful home. It's always spotlessly clean with fantastic breakfasts. Their garden is also spectacular. They are lovely hosts that can't do enough for you. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfstennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Warm, friendly and helpful proprietor who gave very helpful guidance about local attractions and onward travel plans. Comfortable bed and a superb breakfast. The porridge with Irish Mist is truly the food of the gods.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dandjrae24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
9.8 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breagagh View
Breagagh View
#46 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#22 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
The 'Rafter' Dempsey's
#30 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#11 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillgrove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillgrove B&B

Property: Hillgrove B&B
Address: Hillgrove Hillgrove Hillgrove Warrington | Bennettsbridge Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing