We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable experience and we will return again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“A very enjoyable experience and we will return again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful setting in the centre of a lovely small city. It is situated in a quiet location on the river Nore under the walls of the imposing castle. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful in all departments and they provided everything we asked for which contributed in a big way to the enjoyment of our stay. The Deputy General Manager, Martin Gallagher, was particularly helpful. The hotel has all of the facilities and services expected in a four star. The main restaurant is particularly good and the rooms are well appointed. Because of our enjoyable experience, we extended our stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    480
    178
    99
    50
See reviews for
314
693
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We recently spent a weekend in The River Court Hotel with a group of friends. The service from the lovely ladies at the reception was brilliant and nothing was too much of a bother. We enjoyed a lovely afternoon sitting out on the terrace having drinks and lunch with brilliant views of the castle. Leisure facilities were great and I enjoyed a really nice facial in the treatment rooms. Again, the staff were so pleasant. We had dinner on the Saturday night in Yindees restaurant for a large group of us. The service and food was amazing. Thanks again to all at the hotel..... we will definitly be returning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtinOrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a huge family renunion with family coming from all over the world. I arrived on Saturday afternoon and checked straight in no problem. First impressions were that it is a nice warm,friendly hotel. Double room was adequate although I was travelling alone. We had arranged a group meal in the restaurant on saturday and the food was very good with quick service and friendly staff. Only issue here was we had a seperate table with 16 children on it ranging in age from two to 13,they unfortunately offered the kids choice of a three course meal which was a total waste of time as they are after all "kids"! Their food took too long to come out and by this time the younger ones were getting tired and hungry.It should have been kept simple i.e chicken nuggets or pizza,not leave the choice in the hands of a for year old!Am not sure the other diners in the restaurant appreciated our reminissing and speeches but we had asked for a seperate room to dine in so I wasn't worried about anyone else. We stayed in the bar till closing (3am for residents) and then the noise started. There were numerous hen partys on my floor with constant banging of doors,knocking on my door etc and general disturbance. I am all for people enjoying themselves but I do think Rivercourt need to address this issue. The walls seem very thin and you can here everything,needless to say very little sleep was had!When I did complain the next day I was offered the chance to speak to a manager but felt it was little too late as the hen party had checked ot that a/m.All in all a good hotel,adequate for a stay in the centre of the city,but had i gone for rest and relaxation then this review would be totall different!I know you have to fill the hotel but perhaps allocate the hen/stag parties rooms on the same floor to minimise disturbance to other guests? Forgot to mention breakfast,absolutely gret and can be delivered to your room if you are suffering from lack of sleep!One small other gripe sort out the gazeebo that rents itself to the outdoor smoking area,nail down the poles so that you don't have to listen to them banging all night in the wind!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollydeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong / Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

A very average country hotel - ripping guests off. A triple room is Euro255 - with NO fridge, No tea making facilities and stank of smoke!!! They also charged us Euro3 to park our car!! A total rip off. Would not recommend this hotel - a 2/3 star hotel charging 4/5 star prices.....A really bad joke.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Ok the hotel is nice and its also central to the city but it is not worth the money we paid.the reception staff cannot comprehend the English language the barman with the ponytail is the rudest person i have ever met.The breakfast is self-service.the Bedroom is cold and the duvet is too light like sleeping with only a sheet.


AND THE BIGGEST RIP OFF IS IF YOU STAY IN THIS HOTEL YOU MUST PAY 5EURO CARPARK CHARGE ITS A JOKE AND YOUR CAR MUST BE OUT OF THE CAR PARK BY 1PM ON THE DAY YOUR LEAVING OR YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY 1.20 EURO AN HOUR

Dont forget to ask for the reduce VAT RATE as they will not pass it on.
The next time i stay in Kilkenny i will stay in a different hotel

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweety21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The River Court is the very best hotel in Kilkenny if you want to explore this fascinating city on foot. We're both disabled, but found it relatively easy to wander round the shops, stop for a cuppa (or a pint) and chat with shopkeepers, serving staff and other tourists. We found plenty of seats to just sit and watch the world go by.
Wednesday night was a bonus, because we noted a night of Irish dancing, music, singing and storytelling at the Castle; this is on every Wednesday night, and is performed by such an enthusiastic mix of talent; both young and our age......
The River Court should rightly be proud of their 4 stars; nothing was too much trouble, and all staff were friendly and accomodating. The pool/spa is open all day and we swam a few lengths, relaxed in the jaccuzzi and/or steam room, had shower, then did it all again, and again! Perfect. The reason for the only 4 score was that the jaccuzzi would benefit from 2 non slip handles for less able-bodied guests to pull against when entering or leaving. Also, a drinker would save the pool attendant having to fill water bottles for us.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back for peace and quiet, and views of river and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith Elizabet... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Fantastic find. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful pool for the kids with a great staff. Location is unbeatable. Wonderful reception staff. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EF156RHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing