We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great weekend”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

excellent stay in the rivercourt for 2 nights on the 10 and 11 of march overlooked by the castle centrally located could not ask for a better venue rooms spacious beds almost to comfortable the hotel food is excellent nothing to complain about only they charge you for parking which is a bit annoying considering you are spending money there

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    499
    191
    106
    53
See reviews for
329
733
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

As a member of a group, I had no say in the choice of hotel for our weekend away but was immensly impressed. Spacious, modern and elegant and occupying an enviable postion on the riverside. The staff were superb. Always a friendly smile and greeting. The room was large and extremely comfortable. The only meal we took was breakfast which was little disappointing - the usual buffet problem. Some of the components of my full fry had obviously been cooked some time earlier and kept warm - and were a little on the dry side.
Overall, a very comfortable stay and good value

Room Tip: We overlooked the entrance - a bit noisy at night with revellers returning! Go for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I recently stayed at the River Court Hotel in Kilkenny and am very happy to share this review. I stayed two nights and found my room very comfortable, warm and spacious. The location of the Hotel is spectacular and located a few mins walk from the main street, Kilkenny Castle and Kilkenny Design Centre. The Hotel food was excellent and the breakfast first class. The staff in all areas were exceptionally helpful and very professional. The pool was a delight to swim in and also the jacuzzi and steam room were excellent. All in all I would highly recommend this Hotel, you will not be disappointed
Rita, Limerick

Room Tip: When checking in ask the Receptionist if there is a room with a River View available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This had to be some of the best service I've ever received in an Irish hotel. From Rose on reception to Susan in the spa every single staff member had a smile and a friendly greeting. My parents are regulars here, and I can see why.

I had a great room with a view of the castle. The free wifi worked perfectly in the room and there's some nice extras - bathrobes, bottled water. I had some work to do in my room so didn't eat in the restaurant but got take-out from Yindees the Thai restaurant at the arch, it was great.

My parents were due to be here at the same time but they had to cancel due to illness, there was absolutely no hassle rescheduling their visit. On their revisit they got an upgrade to a suite - a lovely touch for their Diamond Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: My room had a view of the castle, which is absolutely gorgeous particularly at night when it's f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great hotel with a great location...

Spent only one night (Friday) here, arriving at around 9:30 pm. Luckily I snagged the last parking space (well, I created my own, actually) all the way in the back of the hotel; this discouraged me from taking the car out later that night but the hotel is so central I wouldn't have needed the car anyway!

The rooms were a nice, comfortable, and I slept very well.

Breakfast the next morning was in a dining room overlooking (well, "underlooking" would be more accurate) the castle, and I left my car parked at the hotel while I walked around town after breakfast.

Great place...I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasKureigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the River Court hotel for two days in Feb 2012. Staff were friendly, room was pleasant, very noisy however on the saturday night with other guests talking loudly on the corridors from 2am to 4am, hotel should put signs on walls on corridors requesting guests to be quiet on way back to their rooms, the chatter really carried and impossible to get good nights slee p on saturday night which ruined the weekend for us as very tired on sunday. Had a 30 minute wait in queue for breakfast sunday morning which we did not mind really because hotel supplied free copy of Business Post and we had orange juice whilst in queue. Staff member gave us a lovely table overlooking river and full view of castle nearby. Lovely comfortable bar in this hotel, with very attentive friendly staff.
€22 for sandwiches and tea room service friday night we thought was very expensive. Also saturday ight stay costs too much given the noise you have to put up with during the night. We would stay in this hotel again because of friendly professional staff, excellent breakfast, proximity to shops but would not stay on saturday night again. Sarah and Sean

Room Tip: Request room far away from stag/hen parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perseph2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

A great stay in the Rivercourt and very good value. The service was excellent as usual.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing