We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great staff great location and nice breakfast !! We stayed for three nights and it was such a delight to see people that looked happy to be doing their jobs and so plesant. We will def go back. Kilkenny City was lovely,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Was expecting better things from The Rivercourt, being a fan of their sister hotel, Lyrath Estate. However, they are quite different experiences. The decor, furniture, etc is lovely. Our room however looked a bit tired. Also, the smell of ciggerette smoke on the second floor corridor was shocking. We were wondering where it was coming from, as the doors had non smoking signs on them? It was as someone was smoking out in the corridor. It would be a lovely place to visit during the summer, as they have a huge outdoor terrace with lots of seating & tables. The staff here are lovely, and the meal in the restuarant was OK. All in all it was an OK trip, we wouldn't return however

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lovely hotel in KILKENNY. Very clean, lovely rooms, friendly and very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kornelia-Bul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the shower kept dripping which was a bit irritating but the staff did manage to fix it. The hotel is in an excellent location being just 2 minutes walk from Kilkenny castle and Kilkenny town centre with rooms overlooking the castle walls and the river which is very attractive. We enjoyed long walks by the river in the morning and had a wonderful stay in Kilkenny city which has lots of interesting shops and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The River Court hotel is in a good location with views of Kilkenny Castle from one side of the hotel and the restaurant. Service is good, the staff at breakfast being best of all.

It is a noisy hotel though, service staff yelling in the halls, kids running, etc. I also would say it is a bit pricey for what you get, then you have to pay 3 euros for parking.

Other than those cons, the location can't be beat, so 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttpluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights in March. The hotel is very central in Kilkenny, and as the name suggests is next to the river. Parking is plentiful (if you include behind the hotel), and check-in was friendly and efficient. My room, 201, a double, was bright and comfortable without being exceptional. The en-suite was fine and the shower good. Breakfast is a buffet that seems to be run efficiently, and even though the hotel seemed busy I was always served coffee quickly.
The cooked breakfast was decent- I didn't try anything else.
The bar was ok, but no better, and really only worth visiting for a late night drink. Nearby are several good bars; I especially loved the traditional (lovely flooring) Tynans just the other side of the bridge.
I will stay here again when I return to this excellent town.

Room Tip: the rooms ending 01 are nearest to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I had our Wedding service and reception at this hotel and it could only be described as perfect. From start to finish, I could't pick one fault, not even the smallest niggle, these guys take customer service to the next level, everyone of our guests commented on the food and service, the rooms and staff.
If you are getting married in Kilkenny you have to check out The Rivercourt Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but ask for rooms with a castle view, there is an upgrade, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsandwiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £68 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing