We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value 4 Star City Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After 3 days in a less than comfortable bed in a "homey" B&B, and 12 days of traveling the countryside of Ireland, The River Court was a true reprieve for this City girl. Gracious and welcoming staff, very pleasant, nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds and pillows -- thank you! The outside/inside bar is friendly and staff is attentive. The dining room is lovely and for breakfast provides a wide array of options. The The location is perfect for The Parade and roaming the shop and pub filled streets of Kilkenny. I wish our stay could have been longer.

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Ireland and Europe, this is not air conditioned. The weather was muggy and warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

A fantastic location in the heart of the city with great views overlooking the river and castle,however we booked this hotel 3 months ago and was offered a room overlooking the courtyard(car park) which was disapointing.i was not prepared to accept this as I had booked 3 months ago,they did find a room overlooking the castle which was very nice.my gripe is I should have been allocated a good room given the time I booked it.apart from this the hotel is top notch and the nicest one we stayed in out of the 3.kilkenny is a lovely city and we enjoyed our stay there for the 2 nights.if you are moving about I would email them the day before requesting the room of your choice not theirs.we had to get up at 6 to drive to catch the ferry and they sorted out continental breakfast in our room which was a nice touch.overall a great hotel and would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: If you want a river/castle view you will have to pay 25e extra but worth it but not room 113 which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Aside from the cost (150e for one night) I really have nothing negative to add. The hotel is beautifully kept, right in the centre, has an amazing view, lovely food & bar, all the mod cons, simply excellent.

I imagine this would be one of the top hotels in the area, perfect for a wedding or weekend break. With its proximity to the castle (directly across the water) it's surely a preferred choice among most people.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony. You might just get the ones that faces the castle and ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lensip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location and has the most amazing view of Kilkenny Castle. Although we did not get a room with a direct view of the castle the room was still very nice (and really you don't spend much time in the room anyway). The breakfast was a standard buffet but it was really the view of the castle in the morning that made the experience memorable. As well, there is a great place across the street for food which also has Bohron lessons every night (it was a blast!).
The only issue we ever faced was that you needed to wear a swimming cap in the pool, but really it was just more of a bummer than anything as there is plenty to do in the city instead.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family, friends or anyone I know. It was amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strac032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Had business colleagues stay there for a week end away last week; amaing service from the bar supervisor; Paul? Great service; great breakfast from a friendly chef and made most welcome by the manager Ann Marie. We will be back Paul but keep that other barman away from us John(?) Get a personality check mate!
Great room; great Security guy - Could you not find someone a bit bigger !!!!
Will return,
txtc

Room Tip: Ask for castle view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conntax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We spent 2 mid-week nights during our trip to Ireland. We took the train from Dublin & walked the 10 minutes through town to the hotel. Kilkenny castle is truly next door and a definite do not miss. This hotel was nice, but the pool & spa center was just wonderful - had a facial one morning, a massage on the 2nd - and the pool and stream room to myself afterwards ! Price was great, location could not be better. Room, retaurant and service good. Would definitly recommend this Hotel and Kilkenny midweek for both price and lots of history and intersting places to visit all within walking distance. And don't miss the Candy stor just across the bridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMCK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

As part of a hen party from galway, we stayed in the rivercourt from Friday 8th June to Sunday 10th! And I cannot praise this place enough! The staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and great craic! A very sincere thank you to Paul Quinlan the bar supervisor who went above and beyond to make it a great stay for us, and also to the bar staff David, Ben (friday night) and John (saturday night) who were so nice and made both nights unforgettable! Your cocktails were amazing and the sambuca surprises really surprised my head the next day!!!! Thank you so much for such a great weekend! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bro-Harv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £68 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing