We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a local”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Arrived in Kilkenny during the "All Irish" hurling playoff game - the whole town was wearing their colors & either in a pub or at home watching the match. Tourist office was closed. A woman in the Pay & Display lot noticed us debating our next move & suggested the River Court as a place to stay. We were given a B&B rate for the night & stayed in a "Super"King room overlooking the river & the castle. Lovely walking path along the river, good pub grub across the street at Matt the Millers. Room & bath were clean, quiet & well-appointed. Large breakfast buffet with extensive selection of continental items in addition to the hot foods.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
There are newer reviews for Kilkenny River Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We used the Kilkenny River Court Hotel for a conference. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, and made sure the event went off without a hitch. They responded so professionally to our ever changing demands and ensured the delegates were looked after. The location of the hotel is superb, in the centre of Kilkenny, which again supported the success of the event. Thank you, i highly recommend the hotel and the event management team.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

just spent 2 nites in a deluxe king river/castle view with a small balcony.

great location- waling distance to all attractions in town. view was great- Kilkenny castle is right there.

very clean and spacious room and bathroom. Bed was comfy and shower pressure was fine.

one complaint- bath towels were small and they gave only one per person.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel's location is superb - right next to the River Nore with views of Kilkenny castle. The car park entrance is 'tight' and not easily noticeable but they have no alternative.

The riverside setting is magical and the breakfast/dining room also overlooks this view. My husband and I stayed in a superior double with these views and the room was lovely although the bath was extremely shallow and not one that you could luxuriate in!

We have stayed here on two occasions and would point out that at one end of the terrace the rooms are next to a generator flue and as such there is an annoying drone from that so ask for a room at the other end!

Otherwise, everything was great. The town and shops were just a short stroll away and the town is generally very interesting and pleasant.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was a bit of a splurge for us, but worth it in every way - especially since we could make use of the parking without having to find a place in town. The pictures say it all - location, location, location. I had a spectacular view of the castle from my breakfast table - it was a "pinch me" moment. Drinks on the terrace were fun, too. Very modern, very upscale.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The River Court Hotel on John St in Kilkenny is very well located with a short walk to everything.-the castle, restaurants, brewery, main shopping street, churches and even the train station. It is set on the river with great view of the castle - enjoying a full Irish breakfast looking out at the castle can't be beat. An added bonus is the indoor pool with hot tub and sauna. The whole staff was very friendly and welcoming and made staying there very pleasant

Room Tip: Rooms close to John Steet on the river can be noisy late at night on weekend
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were fortunate to have a river and castle view room, at no extra charge, simply asked for a view room along with king bed request. It was not noisy at all, but then we were there mid week. Nice lounge and restaurant, very reasonably priced. Great breakfast buffet. On-site parking at 5 euro /day. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask politely in an email prior to travelling and you shall receive an upgrade if available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonladygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £69 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing