We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Lovely start to our road trip in Ireland. Great location and an easy walk to take in the town. We were there just before the hurling final and were lucky enough to meet some of the players.
Hotel was easy to find and plenty of parking. Room comfortable. We were too late for dinner but found a pub up the road which had a great band and Irish dancing. Breakfast was very good.
Staff all helpful. Pool looked good. Went for a walk up the riverside in the morning before breakfast which was really nice
Good choice of Hotel and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Dublin. Room was fine; reserved double and room had one double bed and one single in it. Had the bed been larger I would have given this hotel a 5. The view is very nice and the location is perfect for seeing the sights. The bar was especially good with very helpful bartenders. One of our group wanted an Old Fashion cocktail, one that almost no one in Ireland had ever heard of. But the bartender had us write the recipe and he promptly made a pretty good imitation of it. Breakfast was fab as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laxatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed in the River Court hotel over the August bank holiday weekend and we would'nt have a bad word to say about the hotel, the management and all the staff.
The location of the hotel is excellent overlooking the river nore and Kilkenny Castle. The hotels bar is extremly relaxing with lovely staff willing to help out any way they can. Food served in the bar is also of a very high standard. On a fine day its lovely to sit outside have a drink and take in the atmosphere of Kilkenny and the lovely views of the Castle. The dineing room is also lovely with gorgeous views onto the castle and serves lovely food. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite for our stay in the hotel this was a fab room very spacious again with lovely views and a lovely clean bathroom.
We also held our wedding reception in the hotel and from the very moment we booked the River Court for our reception each and every staff member were more than obliging and willing to help in whatever way they could. On the day of our wedding we didnt have a thing to worry about all staff members looked after our guests, the food was amazing and we just had to relax and enjoy the day as we knew everthing was under control. Our guests also commented on how great the hotel was and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Arrived in Kilkenny during the "All Irish" hurling playoff game - the whole town was wearing their colors & either in a pub or at home watching the match. Tourist office was closed. A woman in the Pay & Display lot noticed us debating our next move & suggested the River Court as a place to stay. We were given a B&B rate for the night & stayed in a "Super"King room overlooking the river & the castle. Lovely walking path along the river, good pub grub across the street at Matt the Millers. Room & bath were clean, quiet & well-appointed. Large breakfast buffet with extensive selection of continental items in addition to the hot foods.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We used the Kilkenny River Court Hotel for a conference. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, and made sure the event went off without a hitch. They responded so professionally to our ever changing demands and ensured the delegates were looked after. The location of the hotel is superb, in the centre of Kilkenny, which again supported the success of the event. Thank you, i highly recommend the hotel and the event management team.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

just spent 2 nites in a deluxe king river/castle view with a small balcony.

great location- waling distance to all attractions in town. view was great- Kilkenny castle is right there.

very clean and spacious room and bathroom. Bed was comfy and shower pressure was fine.

one complaint- bath towels were small and they gave only one per person.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel's location is superb - right next to the River Nore with views of Kilkenny castle. The car park entrance is 'tight' and not easily noticeable but they have no alternative.

The riverside setting is magical and the breakfast/dining room also overlooks this view. My husband and I stayed in a superior double with these views and the room was lovely although the bath was extremely shallow and not one that you could luxuriate in!

We have stayed here on two occasions and would point out that at one end of the terrace the rooms are next to a generator flue and as such there is an annoying drone from that so ask for a room at the other end!

Otherwise, everything was great. The town and shops were just a short stroll away and the town is generally very interesting and pleasant.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £37 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing