We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, dated room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Perfect location, dated room”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

While the location was perfect for Kilkenny, the room felt quite old and distressed. We were expecting more for this hotel based on the reviews we researched. However, the breakfast buffet was excellent and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    511
    203
    112
    53
See reviews for
341
763
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Easy access on car to this well run hotel.
Breakfast, apart from usual Irish hot breakfast, includes fresh fish, on request.
Well presented and cooked to your likening .
Bar has good food in the evening but its special burger is excellent.
Dining room offers a good variety of freshly cooked meals from local produce.
Bed rooms are clean and spacey .
Staff are all very helpful.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillieoReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great location, near the centre of Kilkenny with all the main attractions a few minutes walk away. Terrace along the river with the castle overlooking the hotel was brilliant. This was packed both days we were here since we had a bit of sun ;) Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and breakfast was great. Leisure facilities were spotless. Only negatives were that the hallways could have been a little brighter and we were only made aware of the €5 per night parking charge on arrival. Otherwise a great stay and will recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadraigV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set idyllically by the river with views of the castle. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast is lovely and the staff are very helpful. All this for €75/night. Very good value for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PavIova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good place to stay, was in Kilkenny for a conference, hotel is good, not as modern as some hotels, but does the main things right. Bang in the center of the town, so no driving to and from your place of residence to get to the town center.
A couple of minor quibbles, €5 for overnight parking was something I was not aware of on booking, the restaurant did not open until 7:30 for breakfast, for business this is a bit late. Breakfast was lovely though, and it filled me for most of the day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarathonMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Charming place to stay. Very centrally located in town. Near most sights and easily accessible by auto. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and the food very good. Auto parking was available but when parking in the rear of the hotel, it was a bit of a walk in the rain to get to the hotel as there was no entrance from the rear. Several good pubs to eat or drink at within easy walking distance. Strongly recommend a room upgrade to get a great river view.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed the night before and the night of our friends wedding. It is so central, the car was never moved from the car park. The food was fab, the staff were really helpful and a massage is a must! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Majella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing