We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed in Kilkenny River Court Hotel for just one night but am definitely planning to go back for a weekend break! I stayed in a Deluxe room, overlooking the castle - view is lovely so if you are ever questioning whether to upgrade or not, do! :) Remarkably comfortable room, very friendly staff and absolutely gorgeous food. I could not fault a single thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with the balcony are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear KatiGG,
It's a pleasure to read such a lovely review and we are pleased that you liked the Deluxe room overlooking Kilkenny Castle. I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the food and how wonderful you found the service provided by my team.
We would be honored to welcome you again. Contact us directly for future reservations.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    497
    190
    106
    52
See reviews for
329
728
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birr, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I spent 2 lovely nights last month in Kilkenny River Court Hotel. It was a most pleasant experience helped greatly by the friendly and very capable staff. Dinner was excellent but the breakfast was special great selection with everything cooked just right. we will be back to this wonderful city and beautiful hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 294SMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the food in our award winning Riverside restaurant and how wonderful you found the service provided by my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warmest Regards
Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

a Kilkennyman myself, living in San Diego for over 10 years i stay at the River Court for at least the first few days of my visit's home just to get re-oriented to the time change and relax, there is nothing better than arriving in Kilkenny after almost 35 hours of travel and just getting into the River Court and flopping onto a bed in peace, then when you recover after a great nights sleep you step outside and you are dead centre of Kilkenny city, go eat, drink, walk explore...I'm coming back this June or July again and i can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Ray,
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor which we are delighted to receive.

We are very grateful to have such a dedicated and hardworking team environment at this property and I'm thrilled you have been witness to the many benefits this gives to our guest's experience.
I am very pleased that we had added such a positive experience to your home-coming Whenever you return to Kilkenny, please, contact us directly for better deals and we look forwad to welcoming you back in June or July.

In the meantime our warmest regards
Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here last September for a weekend. Our room was huge, and really comfy. Breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel, and eating it whilst looking out at the castle was lovely first thing in the morning. Perfect location, right in the town centre, with handy car parking on site. Staff were friendly, bar was modern yet cosy, and we loved being able to sit by the river and have a peaceful drink. Kilkenny is my favourite Irish city. Everything is within walking distance, and it's so picturesque. If you plan to visit, I'd strongly recommend staying in River Court Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barisa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
We thank you for your lovely review....here at the Kilkenny River Court Hotel we are all very proud to read comments like this.
Have a lovely summer and see you soon.

Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I love kilkenny. We visit every few months we have friends living in Robertshill and have stayed in numerous Of hotels in the city but we always return to the Kilkenny River Court Hotel. The staff are fantastic and go out of there way for you. We bring our kids with us and they will cater for there needs. He location is perfect , right in the middle of town, there is a parking fee. Breakfast is fantastic , buffet style big selection. The bedrooms are big , beds are very comfortable we always have a fantastic sleep here. If you can ask for a room over looking kilkenny castle !! Fantastic. Check out Matt The Millers and a spot of shopping at marble arch :) can't wait to return to your wonderful hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Rhoda,
Thank you for your 'top marks' review on trip advisor which we are delighted to receive. It is comforting to know that having regularly stayed at our hotel, your experience has consistently remained fault free.

We are very grateful to have such a dedicated and hardworking team environment at this property and I'm thrilled you have been witness to the many benefits this gives to our guest's experience

For your next Kilkenny stay, please, contact us directly.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 night 10th May to 12 May 2013.
We had a smooth flawless check in by one of the most polite, nicest receptionist I have ever encountered.
Our room was 113. We had a balcony that over looked the river and the castle. It was a beautiful view. The room was spotless. We had a very comerfortable extra large double bed.
The bathroom was a little on the small side but imaculate.
The breakfast each morning was very enticing. There was a great selection on offer.
We had some bar, soup and Chowdar both of which were delicious. We sat and had a delightful lunch on the veranda in the bar. It was like being away foreign not home in Ireland.
On the Friday night we arrived back at 3.40 am as we were at a wedding. We had to wait for the night porter to let us in. When the night porter answered the door he was less than friendly. He barked at us to tell him our room number & number of occupants. When my husband answered he barked again to get in.
My over all impression is that this is a lovely hotel in the most perfect location and well worth a stay in.
I will indeed be back again.

Room Tip: Upgarde for the castle view it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Trudymod,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and touching review on trip advisor. It is always great to see when reception staff have been singled out for providing excellent customer service and I will personally be thanking these team members for their great work, thank you again for recognizing them.
I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the food and how wonderful you found the views. It is a shame the only slight disappointment from your visit had been when you returned back to the hotel on the Friday night., please rest assured that I will share your comments with my team and reinforce to them our goal to provide an exceptional service experience to all of our guests.
We would be honored to welcome you again. Contact us directly for future reservations.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel last weekend, what a wonderful choice! The hotel is located in the heart of Kilkenny and was a great surprise

Very nice staff, especially in restaurant and reception. Our room was a nice size and overlooked Kilkenny castle.

Would highlt recommend dining in the hotel..... fantastic food!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Chrissy
It's a pleasure to read such a lovely review and we are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to Kilkenny soon.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing