We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a lovely 3 day stay at this hotel. Rooms are very clean and well maintained.
Would have been good to have A/C as it was very warm but I understand its not required very much in Ireland!!!!
The terrace bar is lovely and we made good use of it especially when there was a bbq and dj on the Saturday night - burger was yummy.
I only have one negative and that is the queue for the food bar - its horrendous - why you cannot simply put in an order and go and sit down I don't understand - it happens in every other bar or hotel. I spent nearly 25 minutes standing to order and get a sandwich - not good :(
Location is really good and picturesque.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and I would like to just put in a word for the ladies that were on housekeeping who were very friendly and did a great job.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgwareSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely 3 day stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

It has certainly been a great summer here in Kilkenny and unfortunately our rooms like the majority of hotels in our area were not built with air conditioning, however the hotel has just installed new awnings in the Terrace and over the winter months we will look at how else we can increase guest comfort during a heatwave.

We are very grateful to have such a dedicated and hardworking team environment at this property and I'm thrilled you have been witness to the many benefits this gives to our guest's experience I will be sure to pass on your comments to housekeeping.

I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the Terrace and in particular the burger.
However most disappointed to learn that your experience in ordering a sandwich at the bar was not good. We do offer table service however there has been occasion where it was not possible in particular at concert weekends. Your constructive observations have been the subject of a meeting with our Senior Management, as I most certainly cannot condone any deviation from the high standards that the Kilkenny River Court Hotel.

I sincerely hope the you will return to the hotel for another visit in the not too distant future
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Firstly an excellent location with beautiful views of the castle very close to the town center. Food and facilities here are lovely and what you'd expect from the prices paid.

My major gripe here though is the service given by the bar staff especially. I found the head bar person in particular very difficult to deal with and unfriendly towards myself and those in my company. He was snappy and short when asking for my order and repeatedly rolled his his when i asked for a clean glass with each round. In the end we stopped going into the bat and instead went to near by local bars.

A spoiler for what was other wise an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

stayed here for the Bruce concert and was so impressed, declan and his team are amazing, go out of their way to help you as much as possible, rooms are fantastic, clean and contemporary just what we were looking for. Cant wait to visit the river court again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for your 'top marks' review on trip advisor which we are delighted to receive.
I am very grateful to have such a dedicated and hardworking team at the hotel which property and I'm thrilled you have been witness to the many benefits this gives to our guest's experience.
For your next Kilkenny stay, please, contact us directly.

Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed there for one night to visit the lovely city of Kilkenny. This hotel's location is perfect, walking distance from anything, including the castle. They offer a nice terrasse.

The room we had was clean but very small. However, the hotel is surrounded by the most brightest light spots to illuminate the building at night. Even with the curtains closed, they had us feeling it was daytime all night long.

Adding the huge party right below us that went on until 2am, it wasn't the greatest experience. We saw the party getting on in the ballroom at around 9pm and we kindly asked the desk manager when they expect it to end. They told us around 11pm

At 1am I called the reception asking why it didn't end at 11pm and they told us that it indeed ended at 11pm but only to be replaced by a new party with a DJ (and his billion giga watt sound system). Duh. No rooms were still availabe at this time so we had to stay put.

To be fair, I met the manager in the morning and he was extremely nice. They refunded the room and apologized.

Breakfast was sub-par.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickmoisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We got married here some years ago. My family have stayed here many times since and the hotel is still as good. For anyone considering a wedding at the venue, do not hesitate. They catered for 200 people at my wedding, and the food was consiostently spectacular and commeneted on to be so by all guests. I asked to use my own favouraite wines, and they allowed me to do so for a very reasonable fee.

The suites are nicely designed and roomy, and the hotel is located very centrally with a great pub (generally with live Irish music and a great pint of Guiness) a very short walk from the Hotel.

Top Tip - Don't go swimming in the river next to the hotel at 3am if you are getting married in the morning

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest
It was a pleasure to welcome you for your recent stay at Kilkenny River Court Hotel and thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation.

We are delighted to hear you are so impressed with every aspect of the Hotel and that you had such a great overall wedding experience. Our mission as always is to cater for your wedding day and make it, just like our Hotel, both unique and memorable. Your Kind compliments are very encouraging for the entire team and are genuinely appreciated.

I hope to welcome you back again to the Kilkenny River Court Hotel in the not too distant future.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in Europe (and around the world) and this one ranks up there. The rooms, spacious, bathrooms clean, view fantastic, food good, and the hotel is within walking distance of everything you'd want to see in Kilkenny. The pubs across the street have live music in the evenings.

We loved this hotel and could have easily spent a week exploring Kilkenny from here. Unfortunately, it was at the beginning of our trip and we kept wanting to come back!

Daughter loved the pool. As a note: if you want to swim you will need to bring a swim cap. There are cloth ones available to buy.

Room Tip: Triple rooms are very spacious for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Sharbean,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

We are fortunate to have such a great location within walking distance of all the main attraction and the varied evening entertainment on offer in Kilkenny City. I am delighted you found the the rooms spacious, bathrooms clean, view fantastic and the food good,

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Kilkenny and hope you will have more time to explore our wonderful city.
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed one night only, great location. Rooms comfortable with lovely views of river and castle, room bit warm. Stayed for Springsteen concert so ideal for walking to venue. Staff friendly. On return from concert hotel had laid on bbq & had enough staff to man bar (which is sometimes a massive problem after a concert) they also had Springsteen music playing. Staff went out of their way to ensure clients were catered for. Breakfast was okay no mushrooms or tomatoes okay if you are on an Atkins diet ha ha!!!

Room Tip: We had 218 no complaint other than rather warm & unable to open windows as warned due to being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniehever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Anniehever.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location especially in relation to the Bruce concert at Nowlan Park and the city centre was great. Both just within a short walking distance.

I was particularly pleased to read how wonderful you found the service provided by my team and that they went out of there way even on such a busy weekend. I will personally be thanking the team members for their great work, thank you again for recognizing them.

It is a shame the only slight disappointment from your visit had been your breakfast and there was no mushrooms or tomatoes available. We do provide these on request each morning and have highlighted to the kitchen for future concert weekends that there is extra available.

I hope this wouldn't deter you from coming to stay at Kilkenny River Court Hotel when Bruce returns to Nowlan Park.

Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £59 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing