We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over all good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“over all good.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my hubby stayed for two nights recently, found the muscled portor very helpful an reptionists friendly. Had a spot of lunch in the bar well presented. Only down fall is u have to pay for parking!" though a bit mean" .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caoilte2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    504
    196
    109
    53
See reviews for
334
743
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

stayed in the river court for a night with my niece and her six year old daughter , I cant't praise the staff enough ,it was my gran nieces first time staying in a hotel and the staff just made her feel like a princess, from providing a bakers shop worth of bread to feed the ducks to delivering a scone and a glass of coke to our room {she wanted to experience room service} the waiter even insisted she signed for room service ...her face was priceless...the family room was huge and spotless ..breakfast was brilliant ... take a bow river court you made a six year old little girl very happy ... will
certainly recommend you and definatly return
l

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryfitz122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hello,
My brother and have recently stayed at the rivercourt hotel for Bruce Springsteen Weekend in Kilkenny. We are from Hibbing, Minnesota...and when we decided we were making a "guys" weekend to see bruce...there was not a open hotel in the entire city of Kilkenny. Until we were in contact with reservation manager of the River Court hotel's Debbie Mangan. We contacted and probably were pestering her every Monday mornings.....wondering if there were any cancellations. Debbie, went above and beyond my expectations of customer service. My brother and I were not renting a car.....so Debbie lined us up with transportation to and from the Airport. The hotel was the perfect, beautiful, and centrally located hotel for touring the wonderful city of Kilkenny for us.
And yes we will be back staying at the River Court Hotel in the near future....because Bruce Springsteen said...he will be back...and if he is back...so will be the "Blood Brothers" from Hibbing Minnesota and we would not stay anywhere else!!

Thanks Again Debbie,

David and Chris Johnson

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djaltavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed in the river court for three nights recently was a great experience lovely and helpful staff had a slight problem on arrival that was quickly ironed out by Declan the manager and he personally made sure the rest of our stay was perfect thanks Declan.will be returning next month and bringing some friends with us I would definitely recommend this hotel lovely bar,restaurant food excellent, great hearty breakfast buffet,spotless comfortable rooms,great location see you guys soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The service is very poor waitress was slow and oblivious to customers .The family at the table next to us ended up having a good laugh with us as we tried to get the waitresses attention..great location but that's about all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaikai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edgware
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Had a lovely 3 day stay at this hotel. Rooms are very clean and well maintained.
Would have been good to have A/C as it was very warm but I understand its not required very much in Ireland!!!!
The terrace bar is lovely and we made good use of it especially when there was a bbq and dj on the Saturday night - burger was yummy.
I only have one negative and that is the queue for the food bar - its horrendous - why you cannot simply put in an order and go and sit down I don't understand - it happens in every other bar or hotel. I spent nearly 25 minutes standing to order and get a sandwich - not good :(
Location is really good and picturesque.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and I would like to just put in a word for the ladies that were on housekeeping who were very friendly and did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgwareSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Kilkenny River Court Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely 3 day stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

It has certainly been a great summer here in Kilkenny and unfortunately our rooms like the majority of hotels in our area were not built with air conditioning, however the hotel has just installed new awnings in the Terrace and over the winter months we will look at how else we can increase guest comfort during a heatwave.

We are very grateful to have such a dedicated and hardworking team environment at this property and I'm thrilled you have been witness to the many benefits this gives to our guest's experience I will be sure to pass on your comments to housekeeping.

I was particularly pleased to read how much you liked the Terrace and in particular the burger.
However most disappointed to learn that your experience in ordering a sandwich at the bar was not good. We do offer table service however there has been occasion where it was not possible in particular at concert weekends. Your constructive observations have been the subject of a meeting with our Senior Management, as I most certainly cannot condone any deviation from the high standards that the Kilkenny River Court Hotel.

I sincerely hope the you will return to the hotel for another visit in the not too distant future
Warmest Regards,
Declan Moriarty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Firstly an excellent location with beautiful views of the castle very close to the town center. Food and facilities here are lovely and what you'd expect from the prices paid.

My major gripe here though is the service given by the bar staff especially. I found the head bar person in particular very difficult to deal with and unfriendly towards myself and those in my company. He was snappy and short when asking for my order and repeatedly rolled his his when i asked for a clean glass with each round. In the end we stopped going into the bat and instead went to near by local bars.

A spoiler for what was other wise an excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing