We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the River Court for 3 nights last week and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Very central location, spotlessly clean,friendly staff and pretty good food. A bit run down in some spots (outside really needs painted) but the building appears to be undergoing a spruce up which when complete will bring it back up to 4star status.

I had a spa treatment which was fantastic and the pool and steam room were excellent. I Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a break and the local pubs and restaurants in kilkenny all helped make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the castle even worth paying a surcharge if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186470Margaret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    486
    185
    99
    51
See reviews for
319
712
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here around 2 years ago I had miner operation so we booked this for to rest after the hospital. I explained this on phone when booking room and that I would b there to rest.we were checked in very fast and taken to our room.the room was large enough lovely double bed and balcony.this was a bonus as I was to sore to walk around so I could sit out for fresh air.it was lovely.food was really nice we had breakfast in our room it was delivered on time was fresh. Staff were very well marnered and very helpful.on checking out we were asked if everything was OK with our stay which of course was perfect. 5 stars from us.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cora2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Pitch and putt weekend away with Cucukoos Nest Pub Dublin. We went to Kilkenny Court hotel and we had a blast.Staff were great Food fantastic .Rooms were spotless. Kilkenny itself is Dynamite for a break.My daughter was also married in this hotel and we had a fantastic time then. Also a great swimming pool and steam room for hangover recovery

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnnywindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The management of the hotel was helpful at checkin and pointed us to a good place for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and the views of the castle were stunning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms with the castle and river views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Arrived no check in until four went shopping on return still someone in our room. We tried to book meal for seven to be told wedding so cant sit until nine decided on a swim only to realise pool closed at six. Arrived for meal booking not made by desk staff girl in restaurant was such hard worker Lovelly the music from wedding so loud we cudnt hear each other. Disgusted to realise on our package only choice was chicken risotto salmon or pasta everything elsr was supplement even some desserts and starters were extra food very nice and girls on floor hard workers over charged in bar by and bar area in need of attention no heated lamps in smoking area or outdoor area Shame as view Lovelly be nice to enjoy it for girlie weekend not pleasant stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laoiswomanthirties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel on the river and just across the bridge from the castle and the tourist areas of Kilkenny. We were very pleased with the rooms and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had a nice Irish breakfast sitting by the window with a view of the castle and the river - lovely.

Room Tip: Of course you want a river/castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I've just returned from a weekend stay at the River Court and was very impressed by it.The location is excellent and if your lucky enough to get nice weather, the terrace beside the river is great place to have a beer and relax.
Bedrooms where clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Mark d,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at the River Court Hotel and for your five star rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the terrace which can be very popular throughout the whole year. The staff as you mentioned are very professional but provide a very friendly and efficient service at all times.

The location as you stated in your review is ideal for visiting many of the wonderful attractions that Kilkenny has to offer. From all the team at the hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend away and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny in the future.

Yours in service

Declan Moriarty
General Manager

Kilkenny River Court Hotel
The Bridge,
John Street,
Kilkenny,
Email: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing