We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Rivercourt Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rivercourt Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights from 30th Sept. We were only meant to stay one night but we decided to stay an extra night, we heard it was booked out but the kind receptionist double checked and indeed there was a cancellation so she gave the room to us at a discounted rate as we were already staying at the hotel and we could stay in the same room, which was great service.
Lovely hotel, extremely central you can walk everywhere, they have a lovely terrace which looks out onto the castle and river , not great for this time of the year but still lovely! Breakfast was great everything was fresh and there was lots of everything. We also had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening, they do a fantastic early bird for €23 which I would recommend.
There was a wedding on each night we were there but it didn't affect our stay at all.
Would highly recommend this hotel, I'll be back again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    481
    178
    99
    50
See reviews for
315
694
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked 5 rooms here for 1 night for a family gathering as part of our holiday from Sydney to Ireland. The receptionist who handled our booking was great, the rooms, the food and the service was all very good. We would like to return there for a longer stay.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

stayed in this hotel recently,have to say we were delighted with our choice
from the very nice welcome at reception to the food have no faults at all,
bar staff as all other staff were very pleasant an couldnt do enough for us,
only small complaint and it is small was the heat in the room was stifling
when i woke in the night even though i had the windows open it was still
like a sauna,apart from that one minor thing everything else was great
and we will be back to stay again...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here December 2013 and expected much more. Rooms were very hot - appeared to have underfloor heating n bathroom and under carpet in bedroom. Glasses of water were filled at our large group dining table prior to arriving in room so tepid by the time we sat down. In the cold meat section for breakfast the cheeses looked like easy singles and ham the only Meat available. Entering the dining room is difficult as a Large piano is placed right outside the entrance doors. All it needs is someone to make small changes to make this hotel more special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabellCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband & son stayed here in October for 1 night. the room was a good size with a view of the castle.
the glass on the window was filthy i coudlnt believe it hadnt been cleaned after the last guest.
We informed reception that we couldnt empty the sink in bathroom as the tiny lever to do so was broken. Nobody came to fix it.

The shower took 15 mins to heat up. I rang reception they sent up a girl who suggested i use the showe in the room across the corridor.
When i went over in my bathrobe i noticed there was no head/nozzle on the shower & the bath was dirty.
Informed reception but nothing was done.

Breakfast was excellent-huge variety & gorgeous dining room.

Very nice barman there on the night we stayed-Sunday 17th November 2013

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I visited on a business trip and found the setting of the hotel is lovely, the staff are very good and always try to help. The let down for me was a noisy room that had bad fitting curtains letting in light and a cold shower.
Reasonably priced though and an offer to go and make good the shower but you never get a second chance to make a first impression. If there was a good option on here I would have said that, but not very good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reeferman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing