We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent a lovely Easter Wknd Break here. It was our first time & we were very impressed. Staff were very friendly & efficient. Riverside Terrace amazing with Sun shine, Music & Good Food. Disappointed No Music in Bar on Sat or Sun night, would have stayed there if there was. breakfast was good, Leisure Centre very nice. Our Room 123 was lovely, Big, Bathroom very nice, Beds so comfortable, overlooking Back Car park & River, very quiet. disappointed with Easter Sunday Menu in Restaurant, so eat in Bar. Pity Bar Food ends so early too. Great Location. Will return again.

Room Tip: Try not to be over the main Entrance, could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coleen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thank you for another great break. This was our third trip to this Hotel,and again we were so well looked after. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The riverside terrace is a lovely setting for a long lunch,music on Saturday was very good. Looking forward to our next visit. Just one suggestion the curtains in the bedroom do not keep out the light, new ones with blackout inserts would be good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Great spot, nice rooms. Friendly staff. We requested a castle view but didn't get one. Breakfast was good, but want given my coffee until I had finished eating & was ready to leave. Showers were nice & bed was comfortable. Walking view within everything

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Walking distance to all the sights in kilkenny. Nice comfortable rooms, clean property, helpful staff. Would stay here again.very nice place. We walked everywhere, but it appeared to have plentiful parking for those who drove. Finding food in the off season on a monday can be tough but overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaconTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Soooo where to start, being moved three times to different tables, been told that they didn't do table service and then watch them service someone else!! Waiting fifteen mins before we could order, being asked to move again!! It's the first time I had a bad experience in this hotel but what a bad experience!! So annoyed! Overall it was a not nice experience, had brought the inlaws out for lunch and we won't be going back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived in Kilkenny and decided to have lunch beside the river. The Kilkenny River Court has a good reputation. The outside seating area was fairly empty and when we arrived a couple were complaining about the quality of the food. We waited a few minutes and ordered an open Salmon sandwich and egg mayonnaise sandwich. Drinks were provided immediately then the wait began. We were waiting about 2 minutes when the Manager came out with two roast dinners having just ordered. He seemed rather dazed that this wasn't our order perhaps we should have taken the food as we waited 45 minutes for two sandwiches. Only when I went into the hotel to see where our order was did the Manager respond with "we had a bit of a rush and had 12 orders" sorry girl the delay. The first rule of good service is let your customer know if there is a delay. When the sandwiches arrived they were very good. The lunch menu for the hotel was poor and lacked choice and at €8.50 for an open smoked sandwich we realised that we were the only Irish customers for lunch. Would I go back, yes for the setting but the service was chaotic and the menu needs to improve there are a huge range of eateries offering good food at far more competitive prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morelanddylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had heard so many good things about this hotel so maybe I was expecting too much. I do not have anything bad to say about it but it just did not do it for me or my wife compared to other hotels which we have stayed in kilkenny. Food and bar was fine but sleep quality was very poor due to a carpark barrier that beeped continously all night. Make sure you do not have a room over the courtyard if you are a light sleeper like me if you want to avoid this. We also had to point out the lack of eggs and hash browns for breakfast and therefore had to wait for them.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms overlooking the front carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £63 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing