We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kelly Boys April 14”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kelly Boys April 14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a great stay with good hospitality! Breakfast outstanding. The location was fantastic where else can you wake up to seeing a Castle every morning. One for Dave thanks for the skull head I've just opened it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear sharonsime

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from the wonderful view of the castle to Davids Skull head !. All of the team would like to thank you for your valued custom and hopefully we will all see you soon.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    485
    184
    99
    51
See reviews for
319
709
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I chose Kilkenny River Court Hotel because of trip advisor reviews so thought I'd add my own.
Good:
The location is spectacular. As you're eating breakfast, lunch or dinner you have an uninterrupted view of the castle. The hotel is within easy walking distance from everything in Kilkenny - generally. The staff were fantastic at resolving any problem I presented - my shower wasn't running hot and while I was out the maintanance staff fixed it. The "free" breakfast (that you pay for in your room cost I imagine) was very tasty - hot and cold food. The room was simple but nicely furnished. The car park is very convenient but hard to find unless you're looking for the tunnel to drive through before the bridge. Oh and I recommend having a massage!
Bad: No A/C so in summer the room was sweltering. Had to open the window (minor relief) and put up with workmen outside yelling and crashing things into a skip under my window. Shower and bath come as one. Not a favourite of mine. The dinner opinions at the bar (the cheaper option to the restaurant) were few and the food seemed to be preprepared so meat was tough, dry and the salads were not fresh. I'd recommend eating out.

All in all I was coming from a backpackers so it was a blessing to come here. I'd come back on location alone but wonder whether in summer you should find somewhere else with A/C.

Room Tip: I think it's somewhat unfair to blame the hotel for my lack of sleep. My room was on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Katie E

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to Kilkenny and the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that the team were able to address any of the issues you encountered in a very efficient manner. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels perfect location.

I do apologise in relation to the noise issue, we have begun preparing for some refurbishment works throughout the hotel. These upgrades will include the grounds of the hotel, public areas and a full refurbishment of all bedrooms. We are reviewing the requirements for A/C in the bedrooms. Once again apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We are soon to launch our new bistro menu which will be served in the main bar and terrace, this will improve the choice and quality available to our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I personally assure you that on your next visit to the River Court that you will see a vast improvement.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We found this to be an average hotel in a great location. It's hard to beat being a tourist in a hotel in a quaint town in the shadow of a castle just across the river. Still, the fact was that the rooms are a tired and in a somewhat shabby condition. Ours had wallpaper peeling off and one light fixture was askew. Still the room was large and had two easy chairs which we really like. Very convenient to town and has a very nice patio overlooking the river and castle. Super breakfast buffet and a very helpful and friendly desk staff. Note the car park is exciting as the entrance is very tight and the spaces are too. There is ample extra parking in the rear though.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking area and was a little noisy. Probably a room facing the castle would be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear buckeye-dude,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to Kilkenny and the River Court Hotel. I do apologise for the standard of accommodation, I am pleased to say that we are planning on a rolling out a large amount of refurbishment works in all areas of the Hotel. This will enhance the Hotel and will add greatly to the very positive aspects of the Hotel, such as the location, high quality of service.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to experience our fabulous terrace which overlooks Kilkenny Castle and the river Nore, I am sure you enjoyed the view while sampling our well known Irish breakfast.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I personally assure you that on your next visit to the River Court your experience will be greatly improved by the refurbishment works that are due to begin over the coming months. Please do contact me directly when returning to Ireland again. From all the team at the Hotel we hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and had a very safe trip home

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The view of the castle is amazing. But the rooms are old; bed is uncomfortable, there in no A/C (in case one travels during the summer). It is a cheap option, but one can do much better with an extra 30 euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Leonard A

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the River Court Hotel. I am disappointed that although you enjoyed many aspects of your stay that you found the accommodation not to your liking. The Hotel is 15 years old and while built with some character, we are planning to start shortly a full refurbishment on all areas of the Hotel.

This I assure you will only enhance the guest experience. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland and that when you return that you may afford me the opportunity to regain your faith in the Hotel and all that we do.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent a night here as a group. The person we dealt with to organize was brilliant so it made everything easier. Location wise it's great, so central to everything. If you're driving the entrance can be a bit tight to take, we asked directions and a very helpful local told us before turning left into the entrance to make sure we gave ourselves enough room. Although the entrance is easy to miss. Check-in was easy and friendly. The rooms were a good size and clean. The beds were comfy, one double bed the other a single.The toiletries were good and the shower was warm and strong with enough towels. One thing was after we both had showers the room got very warm as there didn't seem to be an extractor or a strong extractor so we opened the window, but as it was a warm evening some flies were getting in so we closed it again. We had dinner there which was very good. Breakfast was ok, a decent buffet. I'd be happy to stay there again and next time I would try the pool and the spa treatments as the prices for the special offers looked good. Just one thing, the lifts didn't 'bing' when they arrived down to ground floor so just in case you think they are taking a long time and they are already there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjudge109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear cjudge109

We really enjoyed looking after you all here in the Kilkenny River Court Hotel for your recent stay with us and sincere thanks for this lovely review.

I'm delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your dining experiences here in the hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback on our bedrooms and our leisure club, we are delighted that you all enjoyed it.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming back to Kilkenny very soon


Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is quite a grand place opposite the Kilkenny castle. Excellent location with river (well not so much of a river) between itself and the castle.

Nice rooms, great front desk staff who got us nice sandwiches at xx am after we came back to roost when the pub opposite closed.

Had a restorative burger the next morning in hotel restaurant the following morning - great.

Was my 2nd visit to Kilkenny and the 1st overnight. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Find a room facing the river or the tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent a night in Kilkenny last week for work. Lovely sunny day. spent a lovely evening having a drink by the river and going for some food in the city. Hotel was very nice.nice big room. Comfy bed. it was very warm that night and only the small window had a net to keep insects out. Buffet breakfast the next morning. i would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Paul N,

Thank you for your review and comments in relation to your recent stay at the River Court Hotel. With a perfect location in the heart of Kilkenny the Hotel is ideal for all guests visiting Kilkenny, for business or leisure. I am delighted that the weather was perfect for experiencing our wonderful open air terrace by the river Nore which is popular with residents and locals.

During hot weather we do place insect guards on our river view bedrooms windows to ensure the comfort of our guests. Once again thank you for sharing your comments and all of the team at the Hotel look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing