We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View, view, view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“View, view, view”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great views, great location close to castle and in the middle of town. Everything else was very good, but the big plus here was the location. Right in the middle of a cute town, with lots of places to eat right along the river.

Room Tip: Ask for view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyDocMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear BabyDocMom,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wonderful view from numerous areas in the Hotel as well as the Hotels location right in the heart of Kilkenny City.

Many of our guests use the Hotel as a base for visiting the many attractions, restaurants and Irish bars that Kilkenny has to offer all within walking distance from the Hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday around Ireland and that Kilkenny was the highlight of your trip. when in Ireland again please do visit again.

Yours in service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    491
    188
    100
    51
See reviews for
321
719
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Room very clean and spacious, beautifully located at the riverside. With great view of the castle . hotel was very clean and the staff helpful, Breakfast was excellent and was not a buffet. Would gladly return !

Room Tip: Ask for one fronting the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sean M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to your visit to the River Court Hotel. The location of the Hotel on the banks of the River Nore and directly across from Kilkenny Castle has delighted our Guests from all over the world for the last 15 years. We are within 5 minutes walking distance from all that Kilkenny has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kilkenny in the future

Yours in service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

No service to speak of. Had to wait too long before trying to attract attention and ask for menu. None appeared but other guests were served in meantime. Left without seeing a menu. 4 star - fallen star.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cathcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We decided to stay in Kilkenny on our final leg of our trip to Dungarvan & Cork, weather was lovely and River Court Hotel is in a nice location and beside the River Nore so we were fortunate to secure a room looking out on side of river, Rm 122. Decorated in medieval theme, dark furniture and interior but comfortable leather chairs for reading beside the window. Bathroom is dated and needs refurbishment, nice size and clean. We enjoyed our surroundings and had a nice walk on the promenade next to hotel down at back of Kilkenny Castle grounds and can circle around to Kilkenny Shop & front of castle. We booked dinner in hotel on our first evening set menu selection for 2 course or 3 course, we had pate to start which was divine with mango chutney, pork belly main course & coffee. Dining room is lovely and bright looks out on River Nore nice setting and was busy with CIE coach groups, busy hotel for weddings and tourists. We also had gone to the bar with the intention of having some bar food but it was too cold the air conditioning was on full blast, we said it to the bartender who dismissed it as it'll warm up but only one person was sitting at the bar. A group of ladies arrived in sametime and said the same so was off putting we moved to dining room for dinner instead.The other negative we had was loud American tourists in the room next to us Rm 123, we could hear them loudly talking and laughing, banging doors to other rooms after coming up from the bar and had to report them to reception. We heard their phone ring after followed by a bang to our wall and loud thud which meant they knew the complaint had come from us but at 1am been woken up and having had to endure them earlier in the evening before and after dinner it was time to put a stop to it. If your looking for quiet hotel this may not be best option at busy times, we moved to another Kilkenny hotel on second night and had no sleep disturbances. Otherwise the staff were very courteous and breakfast buffet had an excellent selection to choose from so would give it 3 rating, and try it again at quieter time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Castle on River Nore
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear carfly
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed nearly all of the aspects of your stay from the Hotels perfect location to our various dishes on our dinner menus.

I do apologise for any inconvenience caused by some other guests, we do our utmost to ensure all of our guests have a most comfortable, enjoyable and peaceful stay.

We are shortly going to begin some major refurbishments to the Hotel which will include all of the bedrooms and I assure you that these works will only enhance the overall guest experience.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A very modern, clean hotel. It has all you would expect from a hotel. The staff were very helpful. Reasonable rate per room and close to taxi rank and just a 2 mins walk into city center. Enjoyed my short stay, would love to come back and explore some more of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Bbee C

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Kilkenny and found the River Court Hotel a very suitable base to do so. All of the team hope that you had a safe trip home and that on your next visit to Ireland that you return to Kilkenny.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had a great stay with good hospitality! Breakfast outstanding. The location was fantastic where else can you wake up to seeing a Castle every morning. One for Dave thanks for the skull head I've just opened it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear sharonsime

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from the wonderful view of the castle to Davids Skull head !. All of the team would like to thank you for your valued custom and hopefully we will all see you soon.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I chose Kilkenny River Court Hotel because of trip advisor reviews so thought I'd add my own.
Good:
The location is spectacular. As you're eating breakfast, lunch or dinner you have an uninterrupted view of the castle. The hotel is within easy walking distance from everything in Kilkenny - generally. The staff were fantastic at resolving any problem I presented - my shower wasn't running hot and while I was out the maintanance staff fixed it. The "free" breakfast (that you pay for in your room cost I imagine) was very tasty - hot and cold food. The room was simple but nicely furnished. The car park is very convenient but hard to find unless you're looking for the tunnel to drive through before the bridge. Oh and I recommend having a massage!
Bad: No A/C so in summer the room was sweltering. Had to open the window (minor relief) and put up with workmen outside yelling and crashing things into a skip under my window. Shower and bath come as one. Not a favourite of mine. The dinner opinions at the bar (the cheaper option to the restaurant) were few and the food seemed to be preprepared so meat was tough, dry and the salads were not fresh. I'd recommend eating out.

All in all I was coming from a backpackers so it was a blessing to come here. I'd come back on location alone but wonder whether in summer you should find somewhere else with A/C.

Room Tip: I think it's somewhat unfair to blame the hotel for my lack of sleep. My room was on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanMoriarty, General Manager at Kilkenny River Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Katie E

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to Kilkenny and the River Court Hotel. I am delighted that the team were able to address any of the issues you encountered in a very efficient manner. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels perfect location.

I do apologise in relation to the noise issue, we have begun preparing for some refurbishment works throughout the hotel. These upgrades will include the grounds of the hotel, public areas and a full refurbishment of all bedrooms. We are reviewing the requirements for A/C in the bedrooms. Once again apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We are soon to launch our new bistro menu which will be served in the main bar and terrace, this will improve the choice and quality available to our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I personally assure you that on your next visit to the River Court that you will see a vast improvement.

Yours in Service,

Declan Moriarty
General Manager
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
T: +353 (0) 56 7723388
E: gm@rivercourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing