We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Hotel - Would Highly Recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Hotel - Would Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We recently had our wedding in the River Court & I really can not recommend the place enough!

The staff from day one were absolutely excellent in particular the wedding co-ordinator Kerry & the General Manager Martin.

On the day itself Kerry & Martin were on hand at all times & the whole day ran seamlessly as a result.

The rooms are all beautiful both the function and the bed rooms. We stayed in a Suite & it was very spacious with a stunning view of Kilkenny Castle & overlooking the river.

The food is absolutely five star both in the bar and the restaurant, not one of the guests had one negative remark about it.

Location also is perfect right in the heart of Kilkenny, none of the guests had a problem finding the place.

I would very highly revommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somer_Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    497
    190
    106
    52
See reviews for
329
728
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We stayed here for one night in order to visit the charming City of Kilkenny. The hotel is situated right on the river (as the name would suggest) in the middle of the town. We had a room with a lovely view overlooking the river and castle. The room itself was okay - a little dated, but clean, and the bathroom was a bit on the small size, but we weren't going to spend much time in there anyway, so it didn't matter.

Parking was easy, as the hotel has plenty of space to park in the courtyard - you just pay a couple of Euro each time you want to leave, which for us was just the once.

We didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was what you would expect. Instead we went across the road to Matt the Millers pub for our evening meal and found it to be very quiet and relaxing (though it wasn't a night with live music, so I guess it is much busier on other nights of the week). The food at Matt the Millers was decent pub grub, and far better value than you would get in the hotel.

The hotel's location is its strongest asset. Within a few minutes you can stroll across the bridge and be at Kilkenny Castle -it's well worth taking the guided tour (as it's the only way you can see the inside of the castle) and the grounds are nice for a walk too. Although the weather was a bit wet when we were there, you can imagine that the hotels riverside terrace would be a really nice spot to relax with a drink in the summer.

If we ever return to Kilkenny we would definitely choose stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

We were accomdated here after a disaster in another dirty hotel.
The place is very nice and clean. We were give a huge family room with comfortable beds. Free WiFi internet in room.
Leisure centre and pool are great , but no sauna!
Bar was nice if a little pricey.
Food was good - Plenty for breakfast
Staff nice and friendly
Hotel overlooks the river and Kilkenny Castle and is right in the Centre of the city.
My only real gripe is having to pay the €2.00 exit charge for the car park each time you exit. ( There should be a concession for paying guests )
Other wise the River Court is a Central , clean and comfortable - highy recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyrotten1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

After being disappointed with the Kilkenny Ormonde we went to this hotel and were more than pleased. The staff was absolutely brilliant (bar staff too - great martini!!). Everyone was so accommodating and friendly. And we had a fantastic view of the castle from our room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarts_larue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

You can't beat the value. Beautiful hotel with fantastic views of the castle!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella_Cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

A nice hotel which I would visit again, but perhaps on a better rate; great location on the riverfront & overlooked by the castle and right in the middle of the city. Restaurant was busy on Friday night; "spa" centre was a joke, as it consists of one room for one person-treatments at any time; the pool is nice though. Staff were friendly, and the bar was busy enough - mainly guests having a nightcap. Kilkenny seems to have a glut of hotels now compared to 5 years ago, so River Court will need to become better value.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Rooms_R_2_Warm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed here with my 26 year old daughter on an overnight stay in Ireland after a 2.5 hour ferry from Wales. The hotel was in a beautiful location right on the banks of the river and it was overlooked by Kilkenny Castle. We were extremely pleased with the room which overlooked the courtyard. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good with a good buffet selection. The only downside was that we weren't sure what the proceedure was for breakfast...did we wait to be served or did you serve yourself etc...we eventually followed the lead of other guests and served ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing