We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, nice rooms”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Our room had a king bed, as promised. It was spacious clean and welcoming. Great tv and view of the castle from our terrace.

Situated right in the center of town, its an ideal location to explore kilkenny

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nicwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    512
    203
    112
    53
See reviews for
342
764
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

On our first trip to Ireland, we started with time in Dublin and then a West Cork cottage. Kilkenny was just a stopping point to break up the drive back to Dublin. It is a medieval city and has pubs and cafes galore.
The hotel is right in the heart of the city, in the shadow of the castle and it is a very comfortable place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stillkickingToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Nice location at side of river.

Great hot breakfast even though buffet style with masses of options.

Main problem very very hard mattresses on beds.

Minor housekeeping issues in room, stains on carpet but otherwise generally clean.

Meals in restaurant pricey but you can opt to eat outside overlooking river.

Penny pinching €2 exit charge from smallish courtyard car park.
You might have problems finding a space in busy periods.

Looks like they do conferences, wedding receptions which might be noisy.
Has a pool/small spa but not used during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibby2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Lovely hotel - the most beautiful hotel we stayed at during our 8-day trip to Ireland. The staff was professional and service-oriented and couldn't do enough for us. We missed breakfast in the morning and the hotel manager had food brought out to us in the lobby - it was wonderful and very kind of him. Located right across the river from Kilkenny Castle and from shopping and restaurants - We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

The Cork contingent toured and were delighted with the hospitality and comfort of the River Court. Restaurant food was terrific and its hard to decided what to eat off the menu. My recommendation for a good pint and a bit of old fashion craic agus ceol go to Tynans Bar on Bridge across the road. Happy days! Liam and Paul great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

My thoughts on the hotel...

ROOMS: We stayed in the family room, 4 beds (2 singles & 1 double). The room was big, very big. The room was so big that my daughter pushed the stroller up and down the room during our entire stay. No air conditioning. We were there in May and able to open a window, but I'm sure in the summer it could get warm. We had a fan in our room, but it was broken. Our room was very quiet, even when we opened the window there was almost no noise coming in from the street. We couldn't hook the portable DVD player to the TV. When we arrived, there were 2 coloring/fun packs for our children sitting on their beds. They were so excited, a definite bonus. Brightened up their mood after having sat in the car for 2 hours.

BREAKFAST: For 6 euros a person ( our breakfast was included in the room price), the hotel will bring breakfast to your room: thank you!! The selection is pretty decent. One day we ordered the hot meal and couldn't even finish all of the food. You have to fill out a card the evening before and then place it on your door.

CLEANLINESS: Both rooms & hotel were very clean.

POOL: a nice feature, but closes at 6 pm and everyone has to wear a cap. They sell caps and other items at the pool.

PARKING: there is a decent amount of parking in front of the hotel. However, if full not sure where you would park. Didn't seem to be a a lot of parking on the street.

LOCATION: Within a short walking distance to everything. Our 5 year old had no problem walking everywhere.

ADDITIONAL INFO:
laundry: if you need you clothing washed (hotel has a service, but over priced), the reception was able to direct me to a launderette just up the street. The launderette washed all our clothing for 24 euros and we were able to pick it up in 3 hours, clean and folded.

playground: There is a really nice playground in the castle grounds.

restaurant: we loved Kyteler's Inn and they were extremely child friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alana912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We recently had our wedding in the River Court & I really can not recommend the place enough!

The staff from day one were absolutely excellent in particular the wedding co-ordinator Kerry & the General Manager Martin.

On the day itself Kerry & Martin were on hand at all times & the whole day ran seamlessly as a result.

The rooms are all beautiful both the function and the bed rooms. We stayed in a Suite & it was very spacious with a stunning view of Kilkenny Castle & overlooking the river.

The food is absolutely five star both in the bar and the restaurant, not one of the guests had one negative remark about it.

Location also is perfect right in the heart of Kilkenny, none of the guests had a problem finding the place.

I would very highly revommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somer_Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing