We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would all be happy to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I organised a three day break for a group of eleven female friends and availed of the Golden Years package. It was a great success.
The welcomes at reception were friendly and efficient and our rooms were all delightful, with views of Kilkenny Castle. The facilities and location of the hotel were very suitable for us as the city centre is within a short walk, there is a selection of golf clubs in the area and the hotel has a leisure centre with beauty treatments.
The quality of the food was wonderful and each meal was a pleasure.
We arrived on a Sunday and by doing so seemed to have missed any noise from entertainment on the Saturday - or weddings on the more popular days at the end of the week.. The small resident's lounge was perfect for a late night drink and chat.
A slight downside is the charge of €2 to exit the car park and the difficulty some time in finding a parking space.
Those of us with extra time available would have been very happy to stay on for an extra night but unfortunately for us the hotel was fully booked!
However, everyone on the break will be recommending the hotel to friends and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

These nicely appointed rooms were wonderful for a family use to staying at luxury hotels. They had several rooms with sleeping arrangements to accomodate families of five or more (twin beds and full beds). The rooms were comfortable, the en suite tea service and pant valet were nice perks, and you can't go wrong for the price. Best location in Kilkenny too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotorCityMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We were there for five nights, including a weekend. On both Friday and Saturday there were Weddings which were VERY loud until about 2 in the morning. Management posted a notice about the potential for noise with the caveat that they would attempt to move you to a new room if you were bothered. However when asked, no rooms were available as the hotel was fully booked.

Our bathroom shower was pretty cramped, and the rooms were overheated, but the location was great. The breakfast was good although the hot offering did not change. The front desk staff was pretty harried, and not particularly friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allisonsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We had three days here with breakfast and dinner each day. We got a special deal for 'oldies' - It was good value and we enjoyed our stay. One of the receptionists could have been a bit more friendly but she was business-like. The dining room staff were great and our room was fine with a free upgrade to a room with river and castle view. The staff were from many countries and each wore a flag corresponding to their nationality - a nice touch we thought. The service was excellent. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FANDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I loved most of my three-day stay in the River Court. It's a smart hotel, all the amenities, plus some nice extra touches, and a mostly-attentive staff. Its location is perfect if you want to explore the city - it's located in the center and you can walk anywhere else from the hotel.

The only problems I had here were 1) a noisy room when I checked in, but the manager moved me the next day to a similar but quieter room, and 2) some rude staff. I hasten to add that most of the staff were extremely helpful and professional. However, the staff in the bar were, generally, unhelpful and, in two cases, rude and almost aggressive. I was quite distressed at some of the the treatment I encountered in the bar and would avoid it on future visits.

However, I will certainly return to the River Court because everything else about it was top-notch. You could spend hours on the lovely terrace overlooking the Nore and overlooked by the castle. There is a comfortable residents lounge and lots of nooks and crannies where you can relax and have a drink or just a breather.

The breakfast room is light and airy, and provides a great space to start your day. The food is good but not amazing. You're offered toast whether you've asked for it or not. That's a waste if you don't want it, and it's not really good, crisp toast, so it's probably ending up in the bin. I didn't try the cooked food but all the usual Irish breakfast heart-attack ingredients were in sight! The cereal and fruit choices were good.j

I used the salon, gym, and pool area a lot. The salon provides some great treatments (at a discount when I was there) and Nicola, the main or only therapist, has great hands! The gym is small but has the essential gear and is guarded by the stern-faced Markus, who also ensures that you wear a swimming cap in the pool (even though I've more hair on my chest than on my head).

This is a busy hotel, with a conference or wedding reception happening most days, so don't come here looking for an idyll by the river. Nevertheless, it felt quite relaxed and reasonably quiet during my stay.

Despite my misgivings about certain staff (looks like the bar manager is asleep on the job), the majority of the staff were excellent - professional, courteous, helpful, and friendly without being intrusive.

i would highly recommend a stay in the River Court.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brova33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Hotel was nice after they finally found my reservation after demanding my "voucher" from Expedia stating it was required for the stay. Expedia does not issue vouchers of course. This is an event hotel and there were people literally screaming in the bar area all night and drunken people returning to their rooms, very loudly talking and slamming doors. Numerous calls did nothing to quell the noise and with no air conditioning, there is no choice but to have the window open. Finally got to sleep after 3 am only to be awoken at 6 am by metal being drug across the parking lot as kegs were switched out. Miserable stay, avoid this hotel if you want any sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Stayed there only one night, we had the Bed and Breakfast rate which made it very affordable for us. The terrace overlooking the river and castle can't be beat. The room was clean and extremely comfortable. We were sorry that we were staying for only one night. The breakfast was buffet with the typical choices. The food was very good. The location was good, convenient for sightseeing, shopping etc.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £59 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing