We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilkenny Inn Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,914)
Filter reviews
1,914 results
Traveller rating
921
584
230
120
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
584
230
120
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the rivercastle viewcar parkperfect locationlovely hotelfew drinkswedding receptionleisure centredeluxe roomwould highly recommend this hotellast weekendbreakfast was excellentbar foodafternoon teafamily roomtop classnore
Filter
Updating list...
1,725 - 1,730 of 1,914 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2009

1 of the best most profesional hotels i have ever stayed in. the food was top class. lot's 2 see and do about the city

Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
Thank mickeymc-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Beautiful hotel cozily tucked into central Kilkenny, within easy walking distance of everything and just a stone's throw from Kilkenny Castle. These were the best rooms we had during our 7 day stay in Ireland, but this hotel was also the most impersonal. Great Irish breakfast buffet every morning. Good off-season rates.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

This hotel is in a good location but lets itself down with the service.
On arrival there was no assistance in bringing in luggage in the pouring rain. Finding a car space can be problematic and there is also a 2 euro charge.

My room was nicely furnished but the bathroom was cramped and tired looking, with paint peeling from the ceiling. The hotel is pretty noisy with guests easily heard walking and talking in the corridors.

Breakffast is ok, noting too fanciful. Not a great selection of fruit for vegetarians.

On checkout I had a loyalty card which entitled me to forty euro off my bill. This loyalty card was built up from a previous visit to their sister hotel The Lyrath. The card can be used in either hotel.
I was told this could only be used against a bill from the main restaurant. I had eaten in Yindees which is on the grounds of the hotel and which is run by the Rivercourt. Yindees also provide stamps towards loyalty cards (as I observed in the restaurant) but was amazingly told that it did not apply to this restuarant as it had to be the restaurant in the main part of the hotel. I then queried this with the manager on duty and was then told that I should have produced the card after the meal the evening before and should have paid using it at the time rather than at checkout. After some deliberation the manager agreed that I could use it.

What is point of a loyalty card scheme if the customer has prove their rights to be able to use the card!

On checkout there was no query as to whether I enjoyed my stay or even a mention of welcoming the customer back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

My partner and I stayed at Kilkenny River Court Hotel earlier this month and overall we were pleased with our experience, the room itself was nice and clean, spacious and well decorated, however the room they put us in happened to be right next to the service elevator. As a result of this we were woken up early in the morning by the sound of the elevator screeching as it came up the shaft - if you find yourself in this room ask to change!

Breakfast was terrible.. fatty, tasteless, deepfired with soggy toast and horrible porridge. Would recommend going out for breakfast. The location was fantastic, within walking distance to everything. Despite these annoyances we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aus_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I organised a three day break for a group of eleven female friends and availed of the Golden Years package. It was a great success.
The welcomes at reception were friendly and efficient and our rooms were all delightful, with views of Kilkenny Castle. The facilities and location of the hotel were very suitable for us as the city centre is within a short walk, there is a selection of golf clubs in the area and the hotel has a leisure centre with beauty treatments.
The quality of the food was wonderful and each meal was a pleasure.
We arrived on a Sunday and by doing so seemed to have missed any noise from entertainment on the Saturday - or weddings on the more popular days at the end of the week.. The small resident's lounge was perfect for a late night drink and chat.
A slight downside is the charge of €2 to exit the car park and the difficulty some time in finding a parking space.
Those of us with extra time available would have been very happy to stay on for an extra night but unfortunately for us the hotel was fully booked!
However, everyone on the break will be recommending the hotel to friends and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews