We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

Front desk could have been a bit more proactive and welcoming. One tip is that if u arrive on Sunday restaurant and bar close early for food service, so keep that in mind when puling in at 7:45pm. Room was nice and clean. Subdued lighting in the hallways kinda made me wonder if it was noticeable dust or lack of vacuuming. Lovely bathroom but one thing - the shampoo had an awful chemical smell, oh well. Nice breakfast. Would advise and recommend to stay a solid 3 1/2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    486
    184
    99
    51
See reviews for
319
711
31
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

This is the place you want to stay. I've stayed in other Kilkenny hotels and this is the best. Very clean, very friendly, great location, and the breakfast was good for hotel food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcm47aw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

On the positive...location, food and swimming pool were all super. Staff were courteous.
On the very negative....the curtains in the bedroom didn't block much light so we were awake quiet early. They had a function on on the Saturday night which we did not know about when we booked and it kept us awake after 2am. I mentioned this the next morning at checkout and was simply told 'we had a function on!' I would have expected more from a 4* hotel and I shall not be returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Booked this hotel at the last minute and was very happy with choice. Very nicely furnished, comfortable warm rooms in an excellent part of town. Surrounded by restaurants and bars with the river and castle adjacent. I asked for a quiet room and ended up with a river view which was great. Would be great to go back again in summer and use the river terrace.
Car parking is around the hotel - don't be put off by the 100yds away description. It can get crowded and there is a tight entrance but it serves its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDevonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

My family of 2 teenagers stayed at your hotel over family vacation. What a wonderful experience. the food was outstanding and the service was awesome. i would like to make a special comment to the manager Martin Gallagher. He really knows what he is doing and the personal care that he gave us. We had travelled from New York and he was very understanding about our jet leg. We have a group of friends who are going to Ireland next week and we have given them the name of your hotel. They are staying there and I am sure they will be as pleased as we were. Again, thank you for your wonderful hospitality and kindness during our stay. I would highly recommend your hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abridgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

We went on a midweek deal for 2 nights B&B with a 4 course dinner included. was great value. the staff were all excellent and danny in the bar was very nice and took care of us. the room was really nice and had a great view of the castle/river. All in all it was a great couple of days. the pool was great (although a little cold for my girlfriend so maybe could be bit warmer) and had a nice time relaxing in the jacuzzi. If i want to stay in kilkenny again i will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed in this hotel with a few friends in February. We got a great deal on the hotel. The bedrooms were fine although we did not get any drinking water in the rooms. The breakfast was great although it finishes at 10am! The service in the bar wasn't the best the waiter was very strange and we heard a few arguments between staff. We were meant to have treatments however we got the times mixed up and the spa only rang us after 25 minutes had lapsed and said we could not get anything else done, I thought this was very bad form, it was our fault for the time mix up however they could have rang up to our room earlier. The location was excellent very close to everything but not so close that you can hear street noise. The noise from the corridors was rather bad if it wasn't people stumbling home it was kids running down to breaky!
Overall it was an average hotel and if you get brilliant deal it is worth staying in.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny River Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny River Court Hotel

Property: Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Address: The Bridge | John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilkenny River Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Kilkenny River Court Hotel, superbly located on the bank of the River Nore in the heart of the medieval city of Kilkenny. Nestled in a private courtyard, secluded from the bustling and winding city streets, the Hotel is overlooked by Kilkenny's majestic 12th century castle. On arrival you will feel a sense of belonging as our experienced team welcomes you to Kilkenny's finest four star hotel. The Hotel is the ideal setting for corporate events, weddings or special family events. Our prime city centre location also includes ample secure on site parking facilities. Dining outlets at the Hotel include the AA Rosette winning Riverside Restaurant and Terrace Kitchen at the Riverview Bar complete with its own 'al fresco' terrace dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilkenny River Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing