We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropole hotel
1 review
“So good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed there over night, however I believe I will return. Metropole is a great place with quite good prices. Friendly staff, quite and very comfy bedrooms, tasty drinks and lovely atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this place to everybody!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thanks for your review...we also think our beds are comfy! We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    19
    7
    17
    45
See reviews for
3
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

15 of us stayed here for New Years Eve. We had an excellent time. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. Metropole is in a great location and we will be back again. Many thanks again to the two men who were running it and looked after us so well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilysween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Hi Emily, we are glad the Metropole was perfect for your New Years celebrations and you enjoyed our hospitable service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Staff were so welcoming and hospitable. They knew we weren't going to be a quiet bunch and were so sound about it. Very basic accommodation, great location from main bars and restaurants as well as the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
We are glad you had a fab New Years at The Metropole and look forward to welcoming you back again soon...have you checked out all the festivals in Kilkenny during the spring and summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I was apart of a big group that stayed here for new years and from the minute we walked inside the door the 2 guys who ran the hotel were so friendly and would do anything to help you!
It is a very easy-going place, great bar and food , clean rooms, welcoming and warm atmosphere.
The location is brilliant - very central.
We all had a brilliant stay in the Metropole - we would strongly recommend it,
Many thanks to the 2 guys who worked there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciarab11163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickyMW, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed staying for New Years. We will be happy to offer you the same excellent service next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel was perfect for a quick one stay. The walls were a little thin, but the room was clean and the pub food was good. Also, it is in a great location, within walking distance to all the places we wanted to visit. Staff was helpful in finding us parking as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanainDenver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. The room was simple but not lacking. It had everything we needed (outlets, an hot shower, decently comfy, clean beds.) The view was pretty nice as well. The hostel owner/receptionist/bartender-extraordinaire had really good advice about where to go and was super friendly. We met some nice folks in the bar downstairs which drew us in with some live folksy-type music. Unfortunately we were only in Kilkenny for one night but I would definitely go back to The Metropole in a heartbeat if I ever found myself in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milpa_Swampgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in a 6 people bedroom. The room was ok, we were unlucky and one of the guys that slept with us snored very loud so we could 't rest as we had wished. The toilet was the worst part, it was far from clean. The people tha manage the hostel is really nice, so that made our stay nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xile1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Property: Metropole hotel
Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing