We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with a pub”
Review of Metropole hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropole hotel
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The standards are like a hostel, well what you pay is what you get. Rooms are small, beds way too soft with old school mattresses...
There's a pub downstairs which serves as a checkin place as well. They serve you complimentary toast with butter, jam and coffee/tea in the morning. It's located on the main street. At the end it is a place if you need to stay overnight or not spending much time inside.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank uti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Metropole hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is more of a hoStel standard, so if you expect hotel rooms, you won't find it here. But the rooms are ok standard considering the cheap prices. Stayed for two nights. Fairly clean and the staff was service minded and cheerful. You get a code for your room and The front door (no curfue).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saursaunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Highly recommend the Irish Stew. We were only in Kilkenney for a week. The Irish Stew was so good we bypassed trying a new restaurant and went back for seconds of the stew.
We had a grand time in the Metropole Bar. The locals were friendly, staff professional, and very helpful. We were in search of Irish Music in March. We highly recommended the Irish Stew at the Metropole throughout our stay in Kilkenney and strongly suggested to the B & B owners that they recommend it.
Hot, homemade, price is right, and a nice selection of beer. It was just what we needed after a day in the rain.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Metropole, however we highly recommend the Bar for quality food.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAHUMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Invited to a stag party in Kilkenny and they unfortunately booked this place. When we arrived we were spoken to like children by the manager (we are all 30-50yrs of age) we are not a rowdy crowd and all in respectable jobs, health service, social services, army and Garda Reserve etc. Due to the place being smashed up the week before, we were asked to pay €20 deposit per person along with the actual cost per person, which i don't mind and totally understandable. However, the staff were rude, I was approached later in the night and asked in not a very nice way by a member of staff, who i was, I explained I was with the stag party (all i was doing at this stage was dancing to the music. After we had gone to the room, one of the remaining party had a problem getting into the room due to the key code (he had lost his slip with the code on it) He went to the bar and asked a member of staff to assist him to get into the room where they were very unhelpful and aggressive, the member of the party explained he had paid his money and just wanted to get back into the room, he was then pushed toward the glass door of the entrance of the bar where he had to lift his leg to prevent going face first through the door, the door was broken due to this. Because of the aggressiveness of the staff, the member of the stag party rang the gardai who took him to the garda station (not arrested just to remove him from the situation) we were then told we had lost our deposit and accused the member of kicking the door in and assaulting 3 members of staff, they refused to show us the CCTV footage and started making noises about taking legal action for damage to the door, we again had to ring the Gardai so they could view the cctv footage and get this situation resolved, as it stands it is still underway. I would avoid this place at all costs

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriswild31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First of all, this isnt a hotel, instead its a really dirty low budget hostel.
The staff (aside from the girl) are really beyond rude. As I was entering the place I heard people arguing inside and it turned out to be a staff member shouting at a customer!! I was also shouted at by a member of staff after a simple enquiry. They all seem very stressed and like they hate their job and cant cope with the most basic customer service.
The room I stayed in was filthy, I mean really dirty and I have stayed in many hostels from my backpacking days so I wasnt expecting 5 star. Filthy bathrooms with rust and cobwebs and just dirt everywhere. No toiletries. So noisy at night and no security or porter so I really felt unsafe.
Thankfully we found other establishments in Kilkenny that had pleasant staff and much higher standards so we still enjoyed ourselves but certainly AVOID AVOID AVOID.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BattyCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Had to say a few words about this place as we visited Kilkenny for just a few hours.
The brewery tour was not a option as you had to book four hours in advance and I asked if they could put an exrta tour on as I had a bus load of people that wanted to go on it but sorry no can do was the reply so off we went to find a pub and get some guinness down us.
each went their own way but my wife and I stumbled into the Metropole as it looked like rain,
( SHOULD THAT BE IRISH MIST ) This place will take you back the the days when English pubs looked and smelled like the were meant to be there.
Sevice was by one chap who appeared to do everything and do it well, I have worked this trade and can spot a natural from 100 yards and this guy had it in spades.
He was serving me, talking to another customer, writing down a meal order and answering the phone all at the same time.
Plus he kept a smile on his face even though it got busy for a while, the beer was great, the food you could not fault and the service was second to none, well done you whatever your name is.
A very happy Englishman in your bar. ROY

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived on a Sat evening to findwe had to share the room with 3 other lads who true the night drank snorted and smoked anything that came there way ...bathroom was smelly wooden floors coming of the ground shower was cat and room was full if spiders ...bar staff were Vry pleasant do

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheepo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole hotel

Address: High Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Kilkenny
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. The Metropole hotel in Kilkenny is a B&B and backpackers hostel with accommodation ranging from private twins and doubles to dorms sleeping 8, including a female only dorm. All rooms have en suite facilities and we provide fresh linen and towels and a free continental breakfast each morning. We serve great traditional Irish and International food in our bar, which also features live music 5 nights a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Metropole hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing