We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tour guide was fabulous, entertaining and informative”

Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.34*
and up
Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Kilkenny city, Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny is a multi-sensory experience that immerses you in the history of Ireland's oldest ale. Get a flavour for how our famous ale has been crafted over generations and finish with a cool refreshing pint in the comfort of our Smithwick's Experience Bar. Audio guides also available in French, German, Spanish and Italian. Come to Kilkenny and discover the craft.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our tour guide was fabulous, entertaining and informative”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was a great tour. We also did the Guinness tour, but this is more 'authentic'. A tasting follows. Our tourguide, a former long time employee was very informative and engaging. You could tell he really loved his Smithwick's and knew a lot about beer. Well worth a visit. One of the highlights of Kilkenny. We made a reservation early in the morning and had no issues.

The one downside is you cannot make online reservations, so unless you have a phone, I don't quite know how you would make a reservation as I also emailed the reservation contact address but never got a response.

Nonetheless, I would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbugg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    329
    53
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I can see why this tour is so frequently full. We've been on the Guinness and Jameson tours, along with some foreign tours but this was head and shoulders above them. The chap giving the tour had worked in Smithwicks since the 70s and had a real deep and personal knowledge of the brewery, the history, and the beer. You wouldn't get that kind of passion anywhere else and it was infectious.
It's a rare treat that the tour takes place in a working brewery, and given that Smithwicks will soon be moving their operations people should take the opportunity to visit as soon as they can.
The pint at the end was pulled by the tour guide in a manner I've never seen Smithwicks pulled before, retaining the entire head above the glass. Drank in what used to be an cellar for storing the beer.

Can't recommend this tour highly enough, don't miss out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Passionate Brewer Great Beer. Great Tour”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

To be guided around a working brewery by a highly qualified and passionate brewer was unique and just fantastic. His passion for beer is contagious and culminated in the tasting room where he poured the perfect pint! Well worth it for the pouring alone. Since arriving in Ireland I have visited Guinness and Jamessons but this is by far the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We took the guided tour of the Smithwick's Brewery recently and found the experience a enjoyable. The guide for the hour and a half was very knowledgeable and keen to make sure everyone got something out of the visit. It is a working Brewery and you get to see it in operation. For the small admission fee and the pint at the end its well worth the visit.

Enjoy

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_Five_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This tour is filled with so much history behind Smithwicks, very informative. The onsite Abbey is very cool to see. And of course at the end of the tour there is a pint of Smithwicks - which I think tastes amazing in Ireland!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny also viewed

 

Been to Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing