We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smithwick's Brewery Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny

Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13.17*
and up
Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Kilkenny city, Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny is a multi sensory experience that immerses you in the history of Ireland's oldest ale. Get a flavour for how our famous ale has been crafted over generations and finish with a cool refreshing pint in the comfort of our Smithwicks Experience Bar. Audio guides also available in French, German, Spanish and Italian. Come to Kilkenny and discover the craft.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smithwick's Brewery Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. It was very personal and a little sad. The Smithwick Brewery is being closed and merged with the Guinness Brewery in Dublin.

The explanation of the history of Ireland's oldest brewery and how it came about is very interesting. The tour guide was very engaging. We toured multiple buildings and of course at the end of the tour we sat and had a great beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    284
    43
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of best tours we have taken!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The guide from our tour - a former employee was great - he had such a passion about the entire brewery that was very obvious throughout his presentation.
The Brewery was very interesting & we learned a lot about brewing beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better than Guinness's tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We made our reservation for here months in advance so we would be guaranteed a spot at the time we wanted. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable being a retired taster ( man wouldn't that have been an awesome job!) and took us to the old church they would congregate in the morning to pray for beer, on to the tasting room that is still used today and then through the actual brewery. It was an interesting tour and you definitely cant beat the free beer at the end. Worth the trip! FYI we showed up in flip flops and were sent away because they wont let you in the factory with open toe shoes, luckily we parked right across the street and ran to the car to change our shoes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
210 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Actually toured the working brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Kilkenny was our first stop on our Ireland vacation and Smithwicks was the first place we visited. The hotel clerk told us about the tour so we headed out first thing. Unfortunately when we arrived we were told the tours were booked full for the rest of the day. I asked the receptionist if we could wait to see if maybe someone might not show up and we could fill there spot. Sure enough the next tour group had two people that did not show. What some may call "the luck of the Irish". I'm very glad we were able to take the tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and told us not only of the brewery and the old abbey on site but a little about Irish History. Of course the fresh beer at the end of the tour was icing on the cake. We later participated in the Guinness Experience which I will rate however it was not the working brewery tour that we had here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFarmer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Brilliant Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Brilliant time, enjoyed the whole tour. Ronan (tour guide) was the most knowledgable person I have ever met regarding brewing and Lorraine is the friendliest person I've ever met. It is such a shame it is closing. Tour definitely lives up to the quality Smithwicks has produced for 300+ years

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BakerBoi1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny also viewed

 

Been to Smithwick's Experience Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing