We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful place”

St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Canice’s Cathedral and Round Tower are an essential part of the structural heritage in the vibrant medieval city of Kilkenny. This ecclesiastical site was founded in the 6th century and named after St Canice. Cill Channigh is the Gaelic for the Church of Canice, the church that originally stood on the site in the 6th century.The Round Tower is the oldest standing structure in Kilkenny City. Tourists can enjoy climbing the Round Tower capturing great views of the city (weather permitting). St Canice’s Round Tower is one of only two Round Towers that people can climb in Ireland. Opening times from 29/11/2011 to 23/11/2011. Monday to Saturday 10am to 1pm & 2pm to 4pm. Sunday 2pm to 4pm. Round Tower Climb Time at 12 noon and 3pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 3pm. Weather and staff permitting. Admission fee applies for visit into Cathedral and Round Tower. From 24/12/2011 to 02/01/2012 the Cathedral and Round Tower is closed for visiting. PLease check our website for services during the Christmas period.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The round tower has great views, there are 121 steps to the top of it where you can stop and take pictures. There is a lady outside it who will certify that you climbed the tower for a mere 50c, on the back of this is a history of the tower, she also can mind your bags and coats while you climb up.

The cathedral is impressive, the woodwork roof is very attractive. They really give a detailed list of all the items of interest here and you can follow them around by number or just wander and check whatever catches your attention! There was a table with colours and colouring books so if you had kids with you you could probably let them rest there while you look around. If the weather is nice this is a very nice place to walk around too with the old graveyard. There is a toilet outside too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank butlaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    402
    82
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well preserved, great view”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The church building is quite impressive and the self led tour they've constructed is interesting. Yes, they have even found a link to President Obama. You'll have to take the tour to find out. Pay the extra money to climb the round tower. If it's not raining, you get a great view of Kilkenny.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GooberandRaisinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Church of England Historical Site”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The guides at the entrance were very helpful not only about the site but about the city generally. They guided us to the Black Mill area where my ancestors were from

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cathedral”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very interesting, and worth a visit. They have a very directed and informational plan to viewing everything in the cathedral, which we found very helpful. Most of the cathedrals we visited did not have the information on what was there and important to see. The people at the cathedral were very helpful as well. You are also able to go to the top of the round tower and get a great view of the city, which was great. Definitely take the time to go up, and when you come back down they give you a lovely certificate. :) There was also a very nice cat that seems to live there and will escort you (or ride on your shoulders) as you walk around the outside of the cathedral. We enjoyed his company as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coolcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
“Our Engagement with the Tower”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our Engagement with the Tower
When I was choosing a destination to ‘pop the question’, Kilkenny was high on my list. My fiancée and I have visited before and we love this very scenic city. I choose St. Canice’s Tower as it has a full panoramic view of the city and surrounding area. It really is a fantastic view. I contacted staff at the tower to tell them of my plan and I must say they did everything to accommodate me. They gave me a suitable time to arrive so that we would have the tower to ourselves. They were very friendly and made the whole process more relaxed for myself. Thank you very much for playing a big part on an important day! M&A

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower also viewed

 
Thomastown, Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing