We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-organized self tour”

St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Canice’s Cathedral and Round Tower are an essential part of the structural heritage in the vibrant medieval city of Kilkenny. This ecclesiastical site was founded in the 6th century and named after St Canice. Cill Channigh is the Gaelic for the Church of Canice, the church that originally stood on the site in the 6th century.The Round Tower is the oldest standing structure in Kilkenny City. Tourists can enjoy climbing the Round Tower capturing great views of the city (weather permitting). St Canice’s Round Tower is one of only two Round Towers that people can climb in Ireland. Opening times from 29/11/2011 to 23/11/2011. Monday to Saturday 10am to 1pm & 2pm to 4pm. Sunday 2pm to 4pm. Round Tower Climb Time at 12 noon and 3pm Monday to Saturday and Sunday 3pm. Weather and staff permitting. Admission fee applies for visit into Cathedral and Round Tower. From 24/12/2011 to 02/01/2012 the Cathedral and Round Tower is closed for visiting. PLease check our website for services during the Christmas period.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's definitely worth the short climb to visit this interesting cathedral. For a small fee the helpful and well-trained staff will hand you a keyed sheet with explanations of the significant features of the cathedral and will try to answer any questions you may have.

Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 737 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We walked here from our hotel which was near the castle. The walk was an easy walk. We were able to walk around the church and the round tower. We could not go in as it was closed.

Still worth the visit.

Thank JC_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Make sure to climb the tower, and if you are kid ask for the activity brochure. Great cathedral and wonderful staff.

Thank Asiopean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited St Canice's Cathedral on our way out of Kilkenny. It's quite a beautiful cathedral and is worth seeing. The Round Tower was not open the day we visited. That didn't really matter though as it was a very foggy day and we wouldn't have been able to see anything from the top.

Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We has the privilege of singing in the cathedral. it's simply beautiful and has a high tower, one of two in Ireland that you can actually climb. The cathedral is free, but there is a small charge to climb the tower. there are frequent concerts, so don't miss the opportunity of hearing beautiful music in this special place. An interesting graveyard too.

Thank DavidsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower also viewed

 
Thomastown, Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to St. Canice's Cathedral & Round Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing