We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I booked this hotel as a last minute break and I was extremly pleased with my selection. The hotel was beautiful, staff extremly nice and helpful. Breakfast choices were great. Excellent nightclub and no entry fee as we were residents (added bonus!!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    160
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
135
350
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

we stayed in the Courtyard section of the hotel and the room was very nice and lovely bath as well with large soaking tub and rainshower head- very clean and friendly accomodating staff-Langton's has several bars, restaurant,a theater, tea room, ice cream shop, small store all within it's grounds- it appears to easily be one of the most popular spots in Kilkenny and is centrally located for a short walk to all city locations; the bar staff is very engaging; the music
in the main restaurant at breakfast is very soothing with Frank Sinatra type crooning and natural light coming through the conservatory ceiling-food very good and both breakfast and dinner

Room Tip: there is a late night bar so may want to ask front desk for the quietest location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoFuFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband and I have always enjoyed eating in Langtons since our very first visit to Kilkenny nearly 20 years ago .
But what a disappointment the experience was recently .
We asked if we could have a main course from the appetisers,
I asked for the brie and parma parcels with cherry tomato salad ,
I had to search for the brie and ham and the sald consisted of bagged lettuce with ONE cherry tomato .
My husband asked for the mushrooms and again received a plate of lettuce with four mushrooms
Unfortunately I received an urgent phone call just as I had finished and my husband, who will not complain , paid the bill which was €20 for the food .
never again

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank rosehill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here recently on a short visit to Kilkenny. Excellent choice. Lovely rooms, great staff and good food.
Kilkenny has a lot going for it and Langton's Hotel will not disappoint. Looking forward to getting back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Our room was very spacious. Definately be back to th si hotel if visiting Kilkenny again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was really gorgeous and we noted that fresh fruit was served and freshly squeezed juice also.The bedroom was gorgeous and very tastefully furnished. The Jacuzzi bath in the room was a real luxury

Room Tip: Room 9 is a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Having been dealing with Sean Read in the lead up to our wedding we had no doubt that everything would run smooth on the day as both him and his staff were always very professional, organised and patient when we were annoying you to include the latest special offers in out package!!!! The girls at reception were also very helpful when it came to organising room lists, table plans etc .

On the day the duty managers were extemely efficient, helpful and very well organised. We arrived a little early due to the bad weather but this was not an issue and we were given a great welcome and we were able to get our photo's taken in the ballroom and Bridies.

The two managers were great at keeping us informed and keeping us on track timewise so that the meal or anything wasn't delayed. The meal itself where do I begin?!! The food was amazing, so tasty, great portions I'm surprised my dress didn't burst a little I ate so much!! All our guests were raving about how great the food was! The service was brilliant too, very efficient and no one was left with an empty wine glass!

The following night we had some food and drinks in Bridies which again was gorgeous, a few of us went in to the nightclub after and the bar man that had been looking after us made sure that we got into the club for free, what might seem like a small thing but it was a very big appreciated gesture to us.

There is so much stuff i could mention to explain how brilliant the whole experience was but i'd be here for days!!!

We cannot recommend Langtons highly enough as a wedding venue or indeed as a resturant, place to drink etc. It has everything, good food, lovely setting and genuinely nice hard working staff and there is no doubt that you will see us in there for meals, drinks and special celebrations in the near future

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing