We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Recently stayed here after reading review on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Lots of character at the hotel with a great locations. Was given a suite without request and was delighted to find a large, spacious rooms with a jacuzzi tub. Restaurant was equally impressive, one of the finest in the lovely city of Kilkenny. And the pub within the hotel was a great traditional Irish pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10 to see if its available - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in late September 2012, and found the hotel fantastic - staff extremely efficient and friendly, room fabulous (especially the Jacuzzi Bath) food outstanding. The afternoon tea has to be experienced to be believed

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Jacuzzi Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel with two old friends for the week. It was wonderful! We arrived much too early for room occupancy..but no trouble..our luggage was taken and we were provided with complimentary tea and biscuits in the Tea Rooms. From start to finish the staff were outstanding - welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient. In fact, I think they were the best staff I met anywhere, ever. When the accommodation was ready, our luggage was place there for us while we were still 'scoffing' the tea. The Owner, Eamonn, a very pleasant gentleman, also saw to it that we were comfortable and well looked-after and had cab(s) called for us as necessary. Personal care and attention was important at Langton's.

Langton House is an old building and the bedroom windows (front of house) are rather small, and even though the bedroom had three windows, it was a little dark and the decor was on the dark side also. There were plenty of lights and lamps provided if one preferred it brighter. We were top-of-house and no lift, but no noise either!

The food was superb - nicely presented and plentiful. The Breakfast Menu alone fills the whole of an A4 page...Steak, Salmon etc. etc. and beautifully cooked, and even included a vegetarian option. Dinner was also delicious. The hotel was quite busy and, apart from the residents, seems to be frequented by locals for meals (always a good sign) and I can indeed heartily recommend the Langton food. It is no wonder that there were Group Dinner Bookings by Golf and GAA Associations in evidence during our stay. There were Black & Amber flags festooning the hotel facade and it looks like that there is a bit of HURLING fever in the air now that September is under way!!

I can concur with a previous Reviewer who praised the Scones...Yes, Yes, Yes...and they are available even for Breakfast, together with the delicious Brown Bread. I even bought some of the brown bread to bring home, Euro2.50 per loaf, just ask at Reception shortly before you are due to check out.

Yes, I shall go back to Langton's when I can; one of the staff even said "Please come back to us again!"

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Have to say gone to Kilkenny many many times over the years and this time decided to try Langtons, what a disappointment. Place grat location, but a feel of always dirty yet great decor, and as for the food all I can say is never again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Even though we live in England we arranged to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday with 17 family and friends at Langtons. We have visited Kilkenny many times over the years and always made a point of having at least one meal here. From start to finish the whole event was fantastic. We had a private party in the conservatory which looked wonderful then a bar to ourselves afterwards. The rest of the place was very busy with many other celebrations taking place but the prompt service we received throughout the evening was nothing short of amazing.
A very special thanks must go to Collette and Adele who made sure our special night was one we will remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I honestly cannot rate this Hotel highly enough...we have returned on numerous occassions as we LOVE IT. So much so that we had our Wedding Reception here a few months back. From start to finish yet again it was AMAZING, the staff cannot do enough for you, the interior & decor throughout the Hotel is very tastefully designed, there is so much choice throughout, plenty of lovely bars & garden areas for ourselves and our guests to relax in and enjoy! We stayed here for 3 nights over the duration of our Wedding and it was way beyond what we could have imagined or asked for. We had our arrival in Set Theatre and then the main reception in the Ballroom, both areas were decorated beautifully, the service and professionalism of the staff was top notch and a number of our wedding guests relayed this back to us which is always great to hear about your big day :) the food as always with Langtons was delicious and to this day we still have our guests raving about it. We had the day after the Wedding in Bridies somewhere our guests had not been the day before so it was a lovely setting and change of atmosphere for ourselves and guests, but yet all still within the confines of the Hotel..Looking forward to returning for our Anniversary. We really cant say enough good things about Langtons or fault the hotel, staff or service in anyway !!! Not to be past if in Kilkenny, thanks guys for everything and all the great memories on our big day...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our meal there was nice and very busy restaurant. The bedroom was dark one small dirty window opening onto front street. Big 2 seater couch wit cigarette burns n dark brown, stand alone dark wardrobe, dressing table, table for TV, coffee table, jacket stand, brown pouffe, Luggage stand & double bed all n dark brown. Couldn't move n room with all the furniture. The shower was over the bath with a big head but didn't work, lucky there was a small hand held one which was ok. I was told they were designed by an interior designer. Old dated hotel room. Would have moved on only we got good deal on Groupon for 2 nights accommodation & evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing