We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Langton's is a special place for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Langton's is a special place for us.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for anniversary night having had our wedding reception here last year. There is no place like Langton's in Ireland. Staff looked after our every need. Had or wedding meal in the ballroom - amazing decor. We had the band and dancing in Set theatre which is like going back in time!

The team are amazing and one year on Sean stopped to chat! We will return to Langton's every year and of course Kilkenny is an amazing city!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    162
    62
    18
    13
See reviews for
138
354
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunshaughlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights at langton's for a wedding.

Found this hotel to be very comfortable.
Food excellent.
Staff were most helpful and very friendly.
On the day we were departing a group of us were sitting in the foyer.
Sean, on seeing the group immediatly asked " would any of you like a cupa?"
It was just one of many lovely touches I found during our stay.
You should give Langton's a try.You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Take a room in the hotel, rather than an appartment. If there is a wedding, you can hear the music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and while satisfactory overall the hotel falls down on a number of areas. We had booked the luxury package which involved dinner on one evening, afternoon tea and a lunch and stayed in one of the suites. The room itself was nice but the decor was a bit odd and slightly tacky with silver and velvet outfitting, also some of the furniture was quite tired looking and the sofa was stained. We decided to have dinner in the hotel on the first evening and this was probably the biggest disappointment of the whole trip. The menu was a rather strange mis-match of cuisines from around the world featuring lasagne, asian stir fry and some Irish classics. There was little I found appealing and my suspicions rang true when the food arrived. The meal lacked any thought or attention to detail, my fish main course was overcooked, the veg was cold and came with a huge solid lump of mash. The dessert was also very badly presented and very basic. The service also left a lot to be desired. I don't know if this applies to all the food served in the restuarant perhaps the a la carte is better but needless to say we didnt revisit the restaurant.

The afternoon tea was lovely and the service great for that, as was the service in the hotel bar which is beautifully decorated. The hotel is nice but is let down by a sub-standard restaurant. Maybe stay but don't dine here?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed there last night for a wedding. Absolutely amazing from start to finish. Hotel spotless even though its vast! Parking plentiful and free. loads of places to eat. The wedding meal was delicious and the wedding room gorgeous. Even though there's conservatory and lots of glass windows place was lovely and warm. Service was brilliant throughout the meal, very friendly staff. My only complaint was we were staying in the "garden suites" which involve a walk outdoors from main hotel to the room. Although well lit I wouldn't fancy doing it on my own at night. If there is one thing that would make hotel perfect it would be to have an indoor walkway to this part of the hotel. Apart from this I couldn't fault a single thing about the hotel or wedding. Brilliant idea where the serve the "afters" food and have never seen pork served like that (pig on display!) but it was the most delicious pork have ever tasted! Breakfast had wide variety of choice. Bed was soooooo comfortable, room spacious. All in all was the best wedding I was ever at, thanks in huge part to the hotel. Just build that walkway!!

Room Tip: ask to stay in main complex not garden suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWEI12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here for just one night and it was wonderful. We paid 110 euros for a double room, 3-course dinner and full breakfast, which was just an unbelievable rate for such a good place. The lobby and restaurant area are lovely, and while the place feels a little old-fashioned in spots, it is clean and pleasant.

Our room was nice, but a little dusty. It was very clean, however, and the beds were comfortable.

We will absolutely return to Kilkenny one day (gorgeous town!) and will definitely stay and dine at the Langtons.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Recently stayed here after reading review on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Lots of character at the hotel with a great locations. Was given a suite without request and was delighted to find a large, spacious rooms with a jacuzzi tub. Restaurant was equally impressive, one of the finest in the lovely city of Kilkenny. And the pub within the hotel was a great traditional Irish pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 10 to see if its available - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in late September 2012, and found the hotel fantastic - staff extremely efficient and friendly, room fabulous (especially the Jacuzzi Bath) food outstanding. The afternoon tea has to be experienced to be believed

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Jacuzzi Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing