We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in Garden Suites.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay in Garden Suites.”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We are from Kilkenny and eat and drink in Langton's regularly and will continue to do so as we always enjoy it. We decided to treat ourselves and stay here for Valentine's night on a dinner, b&b rate. Meal was lovely and we had a lovely few drinks both in the main bar and Bridies, breakfast was also very nice and was great to be able to order hot food from the menu so it was cooked there and then. Unfortunately we had a terrible night sleep or should I say didn't sleep at all. We were staying in one of the garden suites which are separate from the hotel. The room was lovely, small and a little bit dark but adequate for one night if you don't plan on spending too much time in the room. The room looked out at a stone wall and a pathway that led to the carpark, as we were on the ground floor it meant people were passing by the window late at night so we couldn't leave the windows open because of noise. Our room was also close to the ballroom which had a large function and the night club was on in the theatre, music from both of these finished at approx. 2.30am, this wasn't a problem as you could barely hear the music but what was the problem was the noise of people leaving when these functions finished, it felt like they were all passing our window. Then there was the noise of what sounded like bottle bins and music equipment being moved. The walls in the suites are paper thin and you can literally hear everything in the other rooms from shouting, fighting to other bedroom activities! Also there is a main door into the suites which was constantly opening and closing from people going and coming. It was about 5am by the time things quietened down. Awful night's sleep, we were almost tempted to check out and go home!

It wont stop us frequenting here for food and drink but would certainly stop us staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamelaRonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    163
    63
    18
    13
See reviews for
142
359
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Excellent experience. Stayed in January 2013 with my girlfriend. Room was really nice. Great value for money and the food was lovely. Furthermore the staff seemed genuinely friendly which made for a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

From the moment we entered the Langton Hotel we were so impressed, we arrived three and a half hours before check-in, this was no problem we were offered tea and coffee while we waited for about 15 minutes for our room!
The room was cosy, well equipped, clean with a huge king size bed! Everything we had wanted! The bathroom was clean, and spacious, with a jacuzzi bath and over hanging shower head! Delightful!
I specifically chose to go to the hotel early in the week to ensure it would be quiet. So I cannot comment on the nightclub below or noise during the weekends,

Breakfast as I expected from previous reviews on trip advisor was not good, my beans were burnt on the first morning, and it just seems that the hotel are cutting a corner food wise. We chose not to eat in the restaurant after this as I felt the previous reviews were most likely correct!

Overall I loved my time in Langton House Hotel, and I would definitely return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore East, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

From the outside it looks pretty plain, but the interior of this hotel is stunning - I would be surprised if it hasn't won all sorts of awards. There are multiple bar and lounge areas all done up with huge attention to detail and full of character. There's even a quirky little shop attached to one of the bars - Bridie's General Store - selling great little knick-knacks and handmade preserves (chutneys, jam, pesto etc). This hotel is very very different to the multitude of bland hotels operating in Ireland at the moment.

Our bedroom was gorgeous - parquet wooden floor, beautiful old-style furniture, lovely bathroom, and the comfiest bed ever. Breakfast was very nice - apart from the eggs benedict option which was poor, all the other options are yummy. Delicious home-made scones, freshly squeezed orange juice, and fresh coffee are a bonus. The breakfast room is gorgeous - flooded with natural light due to the huge stained glass skylights.

There is one negative about this hotel that may put some people off - the huge and very popular night-club that runs until 2am on a Saturday night. We could hear the music loud and clear from our room. Basically if you want an early night either bring ear plugs or forget it. We just went down to the bar for a night-cap while the night-club was still going.. in fairness the noise stopped at 2am on the dot. We returned to our rooms and slept like babies.

Kilkenny is an amazing city and visiting this hotel felt like a real treat - I will definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We dined here one evening, the service was a bit hit and miss and the food somewhat unimaginative. the standard has slipped fro previous visits.The bar service was very good and the bar staff excellent.

Helpful?
3 Thank Wigan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having stayed in Langton's in September and also in October, I was precluded from Reviewing it again until three months had elapsed, so here goes...time has marched on.

My sojourn in Langton's with friends during September was so enjoyable that I decided to take my sister there in October, as I felt that she needed a bit of pampering. Oh boy, we were both pampered and had a wonderful visit. Langton's was super - better than ever - if that were possible. The staff were superb - our welcome, enjoyment and comfort was their priority. Nothing was too much trouble.

I had asked to be put a bit distant, if possible, from any late-night music and, with that in mind, we were accommodated in one of the Garden Suites. It was like having your own comfortable, well-equipped top-class apartment with a gorgeous en suite. Our 'beauty sleep' was certainly not disturbed.
The downside (for some people) might be that that, unless availing of Room Service, one had to go outside and cross the garden path - a few yards - for meals in the Hotel proper. That was not a
problem for us. As before, the food was excellent - nicely presented and plentiful and breakfast was served with a cheery smile and a friendly few words. A complimentary newspaper was available. Dinner was really good too, washed down with a bottle of nicely chilled white wine. We had a meal in the Bar Dining Area on one occasion and the barman (a happy guy with words at will) came to our table and said he had been "ordered" to "look after us"!! (Margaret 'got the blame' for giving that order!). Margaret is a Langton gem...she seems to have everything under cover and moves things along unobtrusively.

Langton's is very well situated, close to the Castle and Design Centre and the place is good for strolling and browsing. We chatted with George in his Antique Shop (he even remembered me from September as he referred to something we had touched on then) and was delighted to supply some more local history. Kilkenny is a friendly and welcoming place and now the CLEANEST of all.

I must get back there again when I can; my sister says, and repeats, that she is ready and willing to accompany me again. You bet!! I think we'll try the room with the Jacuzzi next time and meanwhile we'll dream on and look forward to seeing our Langton new-found friends once more.

Room Tip: Garden Suite for solitude, for perhaps a little robin in the garden and a few other birds in the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This is a lovely hotel and this was my second stay. I was with some colleagues on a business trip. We ate in the bar/restaurant and it was OK - not brilliant but very acceptable. Staff were nice. Bed very comfortable but water fro a bath was only tepid at 5 in the afternoon. The biggest issue was that they seemed to forget completely that we would like to have breakfast. We were told it started at eight - which is late if you have a 9 o'clock meeting. However, we turned up at the bar restaurant at 8 and it was in darkness. The table was laid out for a self service buffet but there was nothing on the table. We found a member of staff who told us to go to the restaurant. We met another member of staff who told us to go back to the bar restaurant. Nothing was working here. Strangely enough we asked if the chef was in and he was. We eventually got tea and toast and were late for our meeting as a result. Not good at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing