We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in a great hotel with lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff in a great hotel with lovely staff.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for a girlie night away midweek. Booking was easy, lovely girl Karen was so helpful and even had the whole thing booked over email. On arrival Maria booked us in promptly and we were upgraded to a suite. Bar staff couldn't have been nice an the prosecco and strawberrys were lovely (part of the package). We ate in the restuarant, good was great value and really tasty. Rooms were huge, clean and very comfortable. Checking out was instant and Karen was as helpful in person as through emails. Will defo be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suecork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    167
    66
    20
    13
See reviews for
143
369
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed at Langton House Hotel a great number of times over the years and have been meaning to sit down and write a review. We're quick to complain but slow to compliment!!! First of all let me start with the Hotel and rooms - I've stayed both in the Main House and in the Garden Rooms and both are all fantastically decorated. If you're lucky enough to stay in one of the rooms above the Tea Rooms decorated in beautiful timeless style with a bit if a kick into the 21st Century then this is for you! As for the food.....I've dined in both the bar and the restaurant itself and both are just amazing with extensive choices and you will be served efficiently by welcoming staff where nothing is too much trouble. In fact on arrival I have to stay the Front of House are so good, I wouldn't be surprised if they have a degree in Customer Service Care - because they do care so much about you having a good stay! Louise Hipwell has to be my favourite, her chirpy happy attitude is enough to brighten any bad day!!! I would recommend Langton House for any kind of stay, I've been with family, on a romantic break and once in a while on my own, just to get away and each time, I've never been let down! Oh and did I mention the great location? Lol I nearly forgot, its bank in the middle of the city so, park the car and enjoy strolling around the city for the weekend! :)

Room Tip: Just remember there's no lift so if you're not nimble on your feet request one of the fab ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAmor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

On my visit I was upgrade to one the Suite on the top floor and despite the other reviews, I couldn't hear any noise.Very spacious room. As this is a grade listed building, so please be aware that there're no lift. I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed with our two year old for a family wedding. Had to change rooms after the first night as they put us above the nightclub! Exhausted going to the wedding! Overall shabby dirty and rude staff. Dumbfounded as to how they are retaining four stars!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefsmrs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor L, Owner at Langton House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Chefsmrs21,
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Langton House Hotel,
I wish to discuss your stay in detail at a time convenient to you, I have listed my contact details below, I look forward to hearing from you.
Yours Sincerely
Eamon Langton
email: eddie@langtons.ie
Phone: 056 77 65133
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Although we found the hotel lovely and the staff fab, our room (72) at the front of the hotel was far too noisy! From 6.30 each morning we were awake with the noise of the traffic right outside the window. There is zero sound proofing! Would we stay in this hotel again??? Yes we would but we would request a room at the back of the hotel away from the road.
We had afternoon tea and an evening meal in the hotel and both were lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellytots82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On our visit home to Ireland from living abroad my husband and I treated ourselves to a trip to Kilkenny we stayed at the Langton House Hotel and enjoyed every second from our fantastic room to the wonderful food I must complement the hotel on there very friendly staff especially the reception Staff in particular Karen who made us feel very at home .. we will be back again..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a midweek break at Langtons . The room , service , staff and food cannot be surpassed . From reception to check out we felt warmly welcomed and very much at home . The city is the most interesting in Ireland and Langtons is well located . Special thanks to Rochelle , you are a great rep for the hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenno39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing