We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what its cracked up to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what its cracked up to be.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Honestly don't know how this hotel has gotten the good reviews...............
My first reaction to this hotel was WOW, it is a fabulous looking hotel. I stayed here on a weekend for 2 nights with my partner. We waited months for this weekend away as I rang to book in february and the nearest free 2 nights on a weekend was in november, we didn't mind this as we thought the wait would be worth it. We stayed in the garden suit. The room was FREEEEZZZIINNGG, the very uncomfortable beds were just 2 single beds pushed together this meant that one bed was higher then the other. The hot water went cold after about 5 minutes which wasn't nice. I think the walls could be made of paper as we could hear every word from the room next door. We went out on the sat night for a nice meal and a few drinks only to came back to find that we had to show proof that we were guests to 3 separate set of bouncers and then fight our way through a crowded night club just to get to our room. we placed an order for breakfast to come to our room for the Sunday morning, Sunday morning came and no sign of our breakfast, rang reception and our order had been forgotten about, by the time our breakfast came to the room, we had to rush eating as to be out of the room by 12 o'clock. Anyone thinking of staying here for a weekend BEWARE of the ridiculously loud night club and very loud drunken people going to there rooms at all hours of the morning. I got no sleep for the 2 nights I was there. not worth the 260 euro we paid :-(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    164
    63
    19
    13
See reviews for
146
363
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here recently for a 2 night midweek break. Stayed in a room in the garden suites which was lovely. Being midweek it was quite, but that was the point, so it was perfect. The room spacious and is nicely decorated with quality old style solid wood furniture. We stayed bed and breakfast and the cooked breakfast and cold breakfast buffet of fruits and cold Marys was nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kilkenny is a lovely city and the Hotel, which looks like a bar from the outside but is actually enormous once you get inside, is basically City Centre and ideal for exploring or going out. Had food in the bar one of the days and it was hearty and very pleasant. Would stay again. (I'm told it's very busy with stags and hens especially on weekends, but I was there mid October, midweek, and it was nice and quiet). We stayed on a 2 night b&b living social deal, so it was definitely good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMcGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

To view this establishment from the Main road can be very deceiving. Once you enter by the main entrance, one is of the immediate opinion that the old world decor has been painstakingly placed to create a caring first impression. Timberwork is everywhere throughout the Hotel, but of differing eras. A warm and welcoming receptionist with a smile is what visitors expect, and i am glad to say that is exactly what we got. Guest rooms are warm and spacious and ours contained a spa bath but unfortunately, i never had enough time to try it out. The complete hotel resembles a maze of rooms/areas that give the opinion of many add-ons over the Years. Bar prices are perhaps a bit expensive for this area, one resident admitted they went across the road for "normal" drink prices rather than drink in the Hotel. The food was absolutely beautiful, and sometimes the amount of tables seemed insufficient. Perhaps my only demerits for Langtons were a broken sashcord on our room window and their Bar prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Breslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Really nice hotel to stay in with great staff and great service. Food is just suburb and a great atomosphere in the hotel. The rooms were also of a great standard. The hotel has great character and beautiful decor

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend recently for a 2 night stay. A really nice hotel with great choices for dining from bar food to early bird and a la carte menu. Breakfast was just ok though. Came down at 10.25 on both mornings, I know breakfast finishes at 10.30 but every table was dirty. Menu was presented, dirty. Just needs a little more supervision and it would be perfect. Quality of food was ok for breakfast. Omelette was tasty on first morning, but full Irish wasn't great 2nd morming.

The room was fine, one of the garden suites. Was a bit noisy as main door to block was very noisy and noise from guests coming and going was very annoying...
Overall a very good hotel and will defo return. Small issues that they can hopefully work on.
All staff very helpful which is great to see in today's market...
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Langton House hotel was so much more than I could have expected.
From the reception staff to the waiting and bar staff I could not praise them enough. Friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. We ate dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful and our room was spotless and welcoming.
I would definitely go back and I would recommend it to anyway looking for a break away to Kilkenny. Thank you again to all the staff for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Yes, we were back again (my sister and I) last week in Langtons. It was another lovely experience for us. We were welcomed like old friends by Breda and the other girls who always make sure that guests are comfortable and well fed. The Breakfasts/Dinners etc. as usual were delicious, well cooked and presented. We also enjoyed a few smaller snacks in "The 67" which seems to be frequented by many locals - always a good sign.

It was a very, very busy time in the Hotel as big Society Wedding Receptions were being held there each day during our visit. (The style was gorgeous - pure catwalk stuff.!) The Diningroom was packed each evening, including many obviously prosperous farming families who were en route home from the National Ploughing Championships. Being extra busy was no problem to the staff who, nothing daunted, were as efficient and friendly as ever and still made time to return to our table to make sure that everything was to our liking. (The Horseradish sauce was perfect too.!)

We stayed in the Garden Suites and everything there was A1; we didn't even hear any of the music etc. from the wedding groups.

It was a very successful sojourn in the Marble City where I bought some exquisite wine glasses in a nearby store, at a really good price too. Langton's staff wanted to know when they would see us again with a cheery "Ah, come down before Christmas if yoiu can." We very well might.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyjoycethejoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing