We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another gem”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Was on a hen last and stayed at this hotel. A complete surprise. Amazing layout, wonderful rooms, fantastic food, customer focused, central to the city, but has everything, so why leave! The best and most comprehensive breakfast I have ever come across. I can see why noise might be an issue, but this was not an issue for me. Also had the very best shower ever. This is a quirky find, and I will be back and recommend it. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a great stay, wish we had stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionamwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    163
    63
    18
    13
See reviews for
142
359
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My husband , daughter and I stayed for one night during the May bank holiday. There is free parking at the hotel which is brilliant. There was a cot in the room on arrival which was very handy. Staff were so helpful and kind and allowed us to leave our pram downstairs in reception. The hotel has no lifts which may inconvenience families with young babies. The room was clean and tastefully decorated in keeping with the period nature of the hotel. On a downside, we could hear music from downstairs but we had been already been informed by reception of this possibility on booking the room due to music on the bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was really scrumptious- loved the croissants! We really liked the vast menu for cooked breakfast - it made a welcome change from the buffet style "fill your plate up" hot breakfasts you see in many hotels. The location was fantastic - walking distance from centre. The tea rooms are also really lively and we were sorry we could not try the food here. We would highly recommend this hotel for couples!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CavanGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We go to Langtons every year for a family over night.... It gets better every time we go, the food, service and venue is excellent. Our daughter celebrated her communion and the staff made her feel very special and also gave her a gift!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mur9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for a midweek break and it didn't disappoint , nice place for a spot of lunch too , would return , we got a free upgrade to one of their suites which was lovely , nice tea room also to relax and read paper . Staff were very pleasant .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idrathergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Our recent second visit to Langtons surpassed our previous stay as the lovely people gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite ! The regular rooms are fab enough but the suite was sumptous. An all round great place - food, accommodation and friendliness of staff all faultless. Recommend unreservedly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently had our wedding and reception in Langton's. We initially book the the hotel about a year before the date after talking to Eamon and seeing the Set theatre and it's fabulous court yard. It's was instantly obvious from the package discussion that Every member of the Langton team was prepared to give 110% We had a fantastic day every aspect was taken care of. The team are so experienced and professional at what they do. We would both like to thank everyone at Langtons especially Sean Reid for making it such a special day.
If your looking for somewhere for your wedding we couldn't recommend Langtons more highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serenia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed in Langton's last summer, loved it all in all. Check in was made unpleasant by a rather ignorant blonde who seemed to take it upon herself to discipline me as though she was a school principal,which once I got passed the ridiculousness of,was actually amusing. This is to date the only hotel I have stayed in where a staff member scolded me for making simple requests. One was checking in as soon as possible as I had appointments to keep.She looked at me as though there was royalty cleaning the room and I how dare I want early access to a room I just paid for. When I eventually was granted access to my room she offered to get someone to take my luggage up,I accepted. About 1 minute after shutting the door there was a knock..it was Ms.School Principal blonde pointing to the floor and sarcastically uttering:"there's your bag". I faked a smile and thanked her while in total disbelief.
The rest of my staynwas flawless as I didn't have to deal with her again!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeHotelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing