We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they got it right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“they got it right”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friend and I attended a wedding showcase recently at this hotel. I have to say I am very impressed with the atmosphere, staff professional and friendly-couldnt do enough for you and we were well looked after throughout the evening. The food, well....amazing!
Had such fun and entertainment. To get a chance to check out the venue, food and overall persona of the place for the day of your dreams is something that all hotels that a couple hoping to get married should get the chance to experience before the wedding.
Now if you just wanted to check out the hotel for a nice break in kilkenny then this hotel should not be overlooked. well done Langton House Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellesmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    163
    63
    18
    13
See reviews for
142
359
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed with a friend in one of the Garden Suites. Loved the room and the bathroom in particular - spacious and spotless.
We had brought DVDs for a night in but the TV in the room did not have a built in DVD player. We enquired at the desk about borrowing one and when we got back to our room, it had been set up.
We enjoyed a delicious and generous evening meal in the hotel. It was very, very busy at the time and so service was a little slow but the service itself could not be faulted - friendly and diligent. It was clear to see that the staff were run off their feet but persevered with absolute professionalism.
Breakfast was served in the bright and airy restaurant and was delicious, with an excellent selection.
Only negative - there were lots of cigarette butts littered around the entrance to the Garden Suite building and I did not notice any ashtrays. Perhaps the installation of ashtrays (a little away from the building!) would solve this little issue.

Room Tip: The garden suites are laid out in blocks of four as far as I could make out. I thought this might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The property is amazing - it's staff outstanding. Langton's hotel is a collection of buildings connected by hallways and passages. For such a conglomeration of rooms you would think you might find clutter and mess. During my stay there was construction occurring and a constant stream of visitors throughout the day. Not once would you find the hotel less than sparkling. They work very hard at keeping Mr. Langton's hotel spotless and inviting.
I stayed in the Garden Suite and it was charming and most adequate. Not a lot of storage or closet space but that's not unusual for Europe. A working hair dryer and iron were provided. Not sure about a/c but during my visit it was not necessary. Maid service was spot on. Rooms had a double bed and TV with wireless access. At the main hotel the bar area was humming with activity day and night. Very professionally staffed. The restaurant served full style breakfast service - then offered lunch and dinner specials. I enjoyed everything I was served. Prices were moderately expensive as expected in any fine hotel. The grounds were very busy with weddings and parties throughout our stay. But aside from a few car park difficulties I never felt put out by the activity.
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Kilkenny Castle and the downtown shopping areas. There are many good local restaurants situated nearby. No need for a cab unless traveling out of the city.
The reception staff are the very best I have ever encountered. Always pleasant and willing to help in any way possible. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the rocklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

If your looking for that little extra something, this hotel is for you! From the time you meet the friendly girls on check you instantly feel at home, great food, friendly efficient staff and beautiful beds!! It's a little luxury at a great price in the centre of kilkenny City!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazdowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Where to begin. From excellent staff who helped with a beaming smile no matter the ask, friendly barmen, fantastic food that would make you want to lick the plate, waiting staff that were more than happy to help with menu selection, bedrooms that would make you never want to leave, soft comfortable king size beds, beautiful bathrooms, the list is endless, if your travelling to kilkenny this is a hotel to visit!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. Great value for money, Very well located in centre of town close to everything.(not that you will want to leave the hotel) very friendly staff,, great food,,
Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I went here for one night with my sister, as we got a deal on menupages.ie. With the voucher we got a 3 course evening meal, and 2 glasses of prosecco. The room we got was out the back in a block of 8, 4 rooms on each floor. The room was exquisite. The bed was huge, as me and my sister shared there was loads of room for both of us. The bathroom was amazing, the bath was the more than comfortable. The prosecco was in mini bottles in the fridge, along with a small box of chocolates.
The dinner was lovely, we sent the compliments to the chef!

The next time I am in Kilkenny, I will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Out the back in the block of 8 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aob203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Property: Langton House Hotel
Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#1 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing