We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langton House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was clean and modern. Great location and great price for what you get in a room. The room smelled a little of smoke and that was the only down side. Would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding here july 23.
Can't praise the staff enough. .
Rooms ..food..The decor ..mind blowing. ..The staff give a 110 %..
Can't do enough to make your stay something you will not forget. .gutted to leave. .We had 43 people staying ..everyone was full of praise on there rooms and staff..highly recommend ..can't wait to stay again. .
John & Nilufer Dunne. .
Islington
London

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed and ate here at the weekend. Great place to stay, centrally located, and food was very good with a wide choice of courses. Staff were friendly and very chatty and warm. Would return again if staying in the area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Perfectly located for a chance to immerse yourself in the beating heart of this wonderful medieval city, Langton's House hotel is a sprawling,' olde-worlde' / modern confection! We were allocated a room in the Garden Suites. These rooms are housed in a a modern building at the rear which is accessed by a meander through bars with richly polished brass fittings,polished dark wood and finally under an awning across a garden area. The room was superbly well furnished; the small fridge supplied complimentary chocolates and two bottles of sparking wine! Unfortunately, the diningroom was closed for refurbishment and we were directed to Bridie's Bar for dinner. This was somewhat disappointing as the tables were small (typical bar furnishing) and there was a feeling of overcrowding and noisiness. Breakfast was served here also and understandably,while the staff were trying to cope with the changed circumstances, it made for an awkward eating experience. I deducted 2 stars because of this unexpected situation; it would have been better if we were alerted in advance and, at least, for dinner, we could have elected to organise eating elsewhere in a city full of dining establishments. Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would have no hesitation in returning to Langton's.

Room Tip: The Garden Suites are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is very well located. The rooms are large, elegant, and spotless. Breakfast was fine but the staff took a long time to take our order and then seemed to forget we were there. The reception staff was efficient and very helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here on our way back from the lovely Bayview Hotel in Ballycotton and by doing so got a romantic minibreak with the best of both worlds. The rural seaside charm of picturesque East Cork and the sophisticated luxury of Kilkenny City centre Langton House Hotel with it's huge and exotic many roomed splendour.

The hotel comes with its own free car park which is an idea to get directions to before arriving if you are anything like us who had to stop, double park and ask in reception as we missed the turning. Once found though there were plenty of spaces and it was a nice secure spot.

Langton House Hotel is so large and rambling with one ornate dark wooded wrought iron featured room spilling onto the next beautiful antique tiled long hall, that we had trouble actually finding the reception desk, whihc was a bit embarassing as we were wheeling our luggage, but again this is more down to our poor sense of direction than any fault of the hotel and indeed the ramble through the beautiful reception rooms and bars was delightful.

Our room was breathtaking with large fourposter bed, mini fridge, free wi-fi, tea and coffee making facilities, huge elegant black and white tiled bathroom complete with beautiful antique style scales (eeeek!), fabulous shower and simply loads of luxury touches.

Location wise it is perfect to explore Kilkenny and even though Kilkenny has a well earned reputation as a lively city and as it was hot we slept with the windows open we got a great night's sleep.

Breakfast was lovely though the service was a bit on the grumpy side until we got chatting to the staff who then were a lot friendlier. The cappuccinos, though initially were hard to order and greeted with reluctance to provide, were smashing and the whole thing served in such beautiful and ornate surroundings was a real treat.

I am putting it on my wish list to return to the Langton House Hotel soon to revisit the grace and splendour and hopefully get the same lovely room if I can remember that darned number! Lovely romantic place to mini break and super base for a walk around town to look at the shops and visit the castle.

Thanks to all at Langton House Hotel who gave us such a lovely stay especially whoever assigned us the spectacularly romantic room

Room Tip: I don't know whether we actually stayed in the honeymoon suite or not but it was certainly just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently with friends and was really impressed. Our room was massive and was really comfortable and spotless. The staff were all really nice too.

The hotel's location is excellent, it's within walking distance of everything in Kilkenny.

We stayed midweek and I thought at €89 for two including breakfast was excellent value too.

So, all in all, I'd highly recommend Langtons.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langton House Hotel

Address: 69 John Street Lower, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel located in the heart of Kilkenny.Langton House Hotel Kilkenny boasts 30 premium standard suites. Incorporating our Penthouse suites, Superior Garden Suites, Executive Rooms and Triple Suites. Langtons Hotel Kilkenny, Langtons Restaurant Kilkenny and Langtons Pubs Kilkenny have won numerous awards including the Black & White Pub of the Year (Four Times), the Black & White Super Pub of the Year and the National Bar Food awards to mention but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langton Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Hotel Kilkenny
Langtons Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing