We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising”
Review of La Palmyra - CLOSED

La Palmyra
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“False advertising”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went in for the "special" two course lunch offering: one starter and one entre. The price outside said the price €10. We went in and ordered one special as we do not eat much at any one meal. We we charged €21 & that came to $28!!! When we pointed this out the server became belligerent and said he told us the cost was €10 PER PERSON! The sign out front did NOT say "per person".
He was yelling at us in a way that scared me. He said "the Irish people never argue, only Americans." I finally paid him because he was becoming abusive. I woul NEVER recommend this place. I would note that we have been sharing meals/specials with no problems elsewhere in Ireland. Spoiled our trip to Kilkenny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kjh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy but rushed”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The food here is fab and it is so cheap! (2 courses €15) The only thing I would say is that they are very busy and they rush you in and out so it's not the kind of restaurant you'd spend the night in taking your time, but the food is great and no waiting around on it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced eats”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The food here was fine if a little uninspiring. There was nothing wrong with it, just a little too much pizza dought e.g. the bruschetta was on a pizza base (they did say this on the menu, but I thought it would be more like pizza dough balls. But the tomatoes were lovely a fresh.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

stumbbled on this place by chance, the service was excellent , not to mention the food , was better than any italian restaurant, that i have visited in italy, even at reasonable price, i would recomend this place to anyone

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nicholas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellent food and great service”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This restaurant has a lot of charm and friendly atmosphere,we were a party of 12 and found the food quite good also the food was great quality at a very reasonable price, we all will be returning there again the next time we go to Kilkenny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palmyra also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing