We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Irish Experience! Great food, Great service.”

Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 219 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$56
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lanigans a Family run Traditional Irish Bar and Restaurant with Live Music every Thursday / Friday and Sunday with Top Irish Bands Divil The Bit & The Kilkennys during Wintertime and live music 7 nights a week during summer months . Our Menu is a must to try if your passing through Kilkenny. At Weekend Nights Lanigans Transforms into a Night spot in Kilkenny with DJ and some of the best drinks Promotions to be had in the City. We are a 2 minute walk from Kilkenny Castle and located 2 doors from the Kilkenny Tourism Office. Our Brunch/Breakfast menu is served from 11am with Dinner/Lunch from 12.30Pm. Multiple choice of Sport viewing in Bar with our 6 Large Plasma Screens and we also offer Accomodation for travellers on a budget in our purposley built 40 bed Tourist Hostel which is the only "Irish Tourism" Approved and Centrally located Hostel in Kilkenny - beside our Bar . A Warm Welcome and a friendly smile will always await you when you come to Lanigans - See you at the Bar
Level Contributor
250 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect Irish Experience! Great food, Great service.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Kilkenny was our first stop in Ireland, and Lanigan's was the best way to be "introduced" to the Irish culture! It's a very large restaurant, with a cozy pub feel in front and a large, multiple room, seating area in back.

The food was fabulous... we ordered the Irish stew which melted in your mouth. Of course, we also had a couple Guinness' which were wonderful.

Service was quick, responsive and very friendly. We wish we could have spent even more time at Lanigan's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    134
    36
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anglet, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Irish experience!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great pub, incredible band (the Kilkenny's), rollicking good time!

Looks to be popular with locals and tourists alike.

Really made our trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julieknudsen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good food at a good price , returned in the evening for a drink which was thoroughly enjoyed. Unfortunately couldnt stay for the music as we had a child with us but im sure it would have been a good nite

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank abbafanMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good food, quick, in a beautiful establishment - next to Castle”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were quite hungry after visiting the Castle and sought out Lanigan's because Sharon from Rathview B&B in Swords had mentioned it to us. She was right, the food was exceptionally good. The guy that waited on us seemed to do everything, wait and bartend, but he was quick and attentive. I got the chicken wrap and it was really good! Loved the sauce they put on it. The coke that I got seemed small. When I asked about it, I learned that they give you all of the contents in a bottle. I was use to getting coke's that are poured from a spigot, American style. The chips and sides were all very good. It was one of the best lunches we had in Ireland and are glad we tried this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub food, great show, excellent service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The food was tasty as you'd expect from a local Irish pub, but the show was what brought us to Lanigan's and it did't disappoint! The Irish dancing from a former Riverdancer and his partner was great fun and the perfect atmosphere as they danced right in front of our table to a local band! I can't forget to mention our awesome server- Andre! He was charming and funny, made our experience a great night and recommended some delicious beers and ciders for drinks! Would definitely go back here next time I'm in Kilkenny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Lanigan's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing