We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Calgary, AB
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Welcome spot to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our initial reservations were mixed up at another B and B, so the owner recommended this one, based upon the fact her sister owned it. After a harrowing day of first time driving on the LHS of the road, we were happy to have a room. The owner, Caroline, welcomed us in. The room was comfortable, as was the bed. A bit up from the bridge and castle, it was still close to many attractions. Breakfast was delicious...full Irish.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laxjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi guys, thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we'll see you again. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    53
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
76
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ollerton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just spent 4 excellent nights here with 3 friends in 2 twinen suite rooms. We came last year but with the re furbishment and new management under Caroline the experience was even better. From the first we had friendly, attentive service from people who genuinely had the time and inclination to talk to you. The rooms were clean and good and the full "Irish" was excellent.The position of O`Malleys is also excellent -just 200 yds from Kilkenney High St and the Castle. Even though we had an early departure Tracy volunteered to come in and see to our breakfasts which were all different- great service. We can thoroughly recommend O`Malleys. Superb value for money. Thanks Caroline and your team>

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_BOllerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Dave, thank you so much for your lovely review. I can assure you the pleasure was all ours. You and the friends were such lovely, friendly guests and we really enjoyed having you to stay at O' Malley's. See you next year! Caroline and the girls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night here with my husband and parents in June 2014. O'Malley's was the perfect B&B. The ladies running the B&B were helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The room was a good size and the breakfast was good.
The location is perfect--just a short (2-3 minute) walk into the town center. Kilkenny itself was charming and I highly recommend spending a night or two there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NW_MLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was really nice to meet you and your family. I hope you'll come back to see us again sometime in the future. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Although this was only 200yds from the centre it was quite quiet. It was great being so close to the centre with pubs, restaurants, Castle, river, shops and much more right on our doorstep! We had parking for the car so could walk in! Comfortable room, good breakfast. Very clean all round

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We really want our guests to enjoy themselves and it is nice when they are happy. Thanks again! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makawao, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

O'Malley's Guesthouse is the perfect location for visiting the town of Kilkenny.
We were able to walk the town a few different times during our two night stay with Caroline and her staff. Kilkenny Castle is just down the street, as well as boutique shops, restaurants, pubs and plenty of tourist shops.
The room was nice, clean and satisfied our needs wonderfully. En-suite bathroom, free wi-fi in the room and free private parking lot (in an area of town that doesn't have much room) were all great features.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious and made to order. Caroline gives you plenty of options for food, so nobody should go away hungry.
The BnB was easy to find, communication with our host was great before we arrived and we had a terrific stay in one of our favorite towns.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyngledotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. My team and I work very hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay so we're really pleased you liked it. I hope you'll come back again soon. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location was directly 4 minutes from the castle.
The rooms were very unwelcoming and the comfort of the beds were horrible. (Springs popping out)
I felt like we were staying in a hostel and not a b&b.
I would not recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spidybou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi "Spideybou". Thank you for your recent review. I do however think it was very unfair to liken us to a hostel as all of our rooms have been re-decorated to a high standard with new paint, carpets and furniture. Rooms are spotlessly clean and guests get a great breakfast. I agree that there was previously an issue with beds being uncomfortable but all of them now have memory foam mattress toppers which are very comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location - helpful staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was fantastic including made-to-order pancakes for the kids. Easy walk from everything we wanted to see in Kilkenny. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Tiffany. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was so nice to meet you and your family. You said you might come back for longer next time. I hope you do it would be nice to have you to stay longer. Extra pancakes next time! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast

Property: O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ormonde Rd | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland (Formerly O'Malley's Ormonde Court Guesthouse)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing