We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is very beautiful. The bedrooms are very cute and romantic. The bathrooms are very clean too. So, the breakfast is very good, the food is typical. So, our stay was very well. Moreover, this B and B is close to the Kilkenny's castle and to the main street. To conclude, it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cat_tree01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    48
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is more of a guest-house or hotel than the traditional B and B with fourteen bedrooms and plenty of traffic going up and down stairs and closing doors and so on. Situated on a side street that is quite busy until late at night. Rooms are somewhat small and walls thin enough to hear neighbors. Small television, no soap bars or washcloths provided. There is no parking on site if you arrive early evening. Tea and coffee in room and free wifi. Convenient to town centre and dining facilities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DollyRW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time and trouble to review O' Malley's. We are always grateful for any feedback as we are continuously looking for ways to improve. I would like to say that although it's flattering to be called "a small hotel" we definitely don't see it that way. To us it is a small, family run bed and breakfast which offers great customer service. As we are here all the time ourselves our guests always see and deal with the same people. I'm sorry you found it noisy but during August in Kilkenny there is a lot going on. We have The Arts Festival running for almost two weeks and the tourist season is extremely busy. As we are situated right in the heart of Kilkenny it probably is a little noisier than usual. It is not our policy to provide washcloths but we do provide liquid soap and shower gel/shampoo. There is not always parking on site but there is ample parking very close by which is free from 7pm to 7am and all day on Sunday and Bank holidays. At times when it is not free we are happy to pay for parking. Best regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Convenient situation within walking distance of the main attractions and with adequate off street parking. The rooms are basic and clean but with no lift and two floors be careful to specify if reduced mobility.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time and trouble to review O' Malley's. We are always grateful for any feedback as we are continuously looking for ways to improve. I would like to say that although it's flattering to be called "a small hotel" we definitely don't see it that way. To us it is a small, family run bed and breakfast which offers great customer service. As we are here all the time ourselves our guests always see and deal with the same people. I'm sorry you found it noisy but during August in Kilkenny there is a lot going on. We have The Arts Festival running for almost two weeks and the tourist season is extremely busy. As we are situated right in the heart of Kilkenny it probably is a little noisier than usual. It is not our policy to provide washcloths but we do provide liquid soap and shower gel/shampoo. There is not always parking on site but there is ample parking very close by which is free from 7pm to 7am and all day on Sunday and Bank holidays. At times when it is not free we are happy to pay for parking. Best regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very Good B&B very nice, clean, well appointed, and freshly remodeled. The owner and her staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great location, walk to all the sights. About 3 minutes to the castle. Close to downtown for shopping and restaurants, yet being ½ a block off the main street it is quiet for getting a good nights sleep. If you are driving, it has its own off street parking right there so its easy in and easy out. Breakfast was good and there is always coffee on in the breakfast room and in-room coffee makers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTC8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to review O' Malley's and for your lovely feedback. We are always keen to know what our guests think and are continuously trying to find ways to improve our guests' experience. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I very much hope we'll see you again in the future. Best regards, Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This charming B&B was bright and clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Free, off-street parking and a very close walk to everything you want to see in this wonderful little town. The owner was able to recommend walks of interest and places to eat. The free wi-fi was much appreciated!

The only drawback was that our room faced the street and the late night conversations were magnified and carried into our room (through an open window) as if there were people sitting next to us at 2 in the morning.

The breakfast was very good and our stay was pleasant. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Unless it's cool enough out that you won't open the window, ask if they have a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CGH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever decide to come back just remind me and I can give you a room at the back of the building. Thanks again. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a solid, somewhat basic B&B with friendly folks running it. The best part is that it's just a short walk into Kilkenny which is a great little town. Being so close to the heart of the town makes it easy to stroll back and forth. It's also close to the castle, another plus. Beds were fine. Breakfast was Irish and quite filling. A good choice for a night or two in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holmes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi, thank you very much for taking the time to review O' Malley's. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you'll stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here and loved the location near downtown and most attractions. The Irish breakfast was fantastic and customer service was good too. However, the mattresses were horrible. Not just ours either. We had friends with us and we asked some of the other guests. There mattresses were terrible too. Get rid of this problem and it is a great Bed and Breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cllovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Owner at O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi, thank you very much for your review. I'm so sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable. You'll be pleased to know that all of our beds now have memory foam mattress toppers so if you do decide to stay with us again you'll have a great nights sleep. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast

Property: O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ormonde Rd | Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland (Formerly O'Malley's Ormonde Court Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Malley's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing