We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eddie Rockets

Eddie Rockets
Ranked #79 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Took the kids here for tea, it was very pleasant. Atmosphere was good, quite busy and the service was very good. Food was lovely as always. Waiter was really friendly, seating perhaps a wee bit squashed and my daughter's friend slipped on the stairs on way down to toilet, after which they put up a warning sign :) Generally, though, kids really enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gori_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The juciest burger in a long while. A treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

On one of the wettest and windiest days after Christmas, I had a glorious experience and a wonderful meal at Eddie Rocket's in McDonagh Junction in Kilkenny. Inadvertently, we jumped the queue at the entrance, but a really helpful waitress got us menus and her welcome was honest and warm. She later guided us through the menu choices and combo options. What attention on a crowded lunchtime. I had a Smokestack burger, and they were the juiciest and most flavoursome I have had in a long while. This was a treat to top off a great days shopping in a fine centre.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just okay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Despite being quite busy, we only had to wait five minutes for a free table and were served almost immediately! My sister had a Classic Burger which she left most of as it was really charred and quite rubbery (I had a taste). My niece had a grilled sandwich and chips in a basket..it was really nothing special at all. I had nachos which were just okay!

Some of the food is great and some is not worth it. Staff are friendly though and you couldn't fault them!

Helpful?
Thank smellybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Usual OK, but Fridays can be hectic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The smokestack burger has been great recently. The sweet potato fries are a favourite too. I'm not too keen on the shakes, however friends of mine like them.

The staff are Ok, but they have a knack of asking if everything is Ok with the food when you have a mouth full.

If you visit on a Friday, it can be chaos due to the "Fiver Friday" deal. Whilst great value, the classic burger as part of the meal has been overcooked, and getting served and feed in a lunch hour can be tight.

Helpful?
Thank M6BOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable but cremated burger, no thanks.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This has been my second visit to Eddie Rockets in Kilkenny, nice diner and nice staff. The problem is with the burgers, they are literally cremated and are burnt black. I added and extra patty and an egg, nearly chipped a tooth when I bit into the burger it was that charred. The egg was like plastic and the yolk was like a solid lump.
The fries were good and I asked for cheese sauce which I was given very promptly. Chicken wings are also good.
The burgers need serious attention and and maybe a steaming rather than a burning, I think the chefs aim to get the burger a black as possible. I want to go back but also want to hold onto my teeth! please change how you cook you meat patty's Eddie Rockets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eddie Rockets also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Eddie Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing