We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural Irish cottage experience, done with class”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
billg32n
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Irish cottage experience, done with class”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for lodging for a week in Callan to be close to family, but were drawn by the idea of a stay in an authentic thatched roof cottage. And we were not disappointed. At the end of a long drive, we had the advantage of remote quiet and beauty along with close proximity to all services in Callan. And, after seeing how cute it looked from the outside, the inside did not disappoint either. The cottage was very clean, satisfied every need, and contained every possible convenience we could have imagined, from being welcomed with milk in the fridge, a loaf of bread in the cupboard and butter softening on the counter to (of all things) salad tongs and everything in between. The landlady was a combination of professional, friendly and helpful. If an authentic rural experience is what you are looking for, you can’t miss with this one.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsholine
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure in the Irish Countryside!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful vacation staying at the lovely Molassy Cottage. It is nestled away in the countryside and is a true hidden treasure. The cottage is very cozy and romantic but yet large enough for a family of six. It is so well equipped and very clean and well kept. It has all of the amenities that you would need to have a hassle free vacation. The grounds are just beautiful and so relaxing. You are close to the village of Callan and not too far from Kilkenny. If you enjoy the countryside then you will totally love Molassy Cottage. We stayed for 10 days but could have easily stayed longer. After reading all of the reviews, we chose to stay in one place on our trip to Ireland. We have no regrets and would gladly stay there again. The owners, Breda and Joe Morris are fantastic and very helpful. You can tell that they take a lot of pride in their property and are extremely personable! The cottage is great for singles, couples, as well as families. There is plenty of room to roam and enjoy the outdoors. Truly a hidden treasure!

Jane Sholine
Lakeland, Florida USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were able to sleep in and relax
Liked least: It was all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nchaymans
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Molassy Cottage is a hidden vacation Paradise!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay at Molassy Cottage and found it to be such a hidden treasure. We fell in love with the cottage and its location from the moment we arrived. The cottage is quaint, immaculate, well supplied and has so much history and charm. The location is beautiful, relaxing and so private. Breda and Joe Morris were just wonderful and you feel like you have known them for years. They take pride in their property and have done a fabulous job restoring it and still keeping the charm. We wish that we would have booked the cottage for a month instead of 10 days. It was so hard to leave as Molassy really became our "home away from home". The location is fairly central so we got to explore all over Ireland....even a trip up to Northern Ireland. We enjoyed our walks on the property going down to the river, seeing the cattle and listening to the sounds of the birds in the mornings. The location is so peaceful and in tune with nature. We did enjoy the village of Callan, only 1 mile away. We truly got to relax and explore your beautiful Country. We couldn't haven chosen a better place to spend 10 wonderful days in Ireland and will gladly return on our next trip.

Thanks so much and Kind Regards,
Nancy Haymans
Lakeland, Florida USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and the cottage was wonderful
Liked least: NO complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaHarr...
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable, peaceful stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I decided to get away from the noise and pollution of city centre living. We choose Molassy Cottage in the hopes to achieve this and we were not disappointed. We had a peaceful and comfortable stay in the heart of the countryside. And the icing on the cake was that we could bring along our spoilt cat for the trip, who loved his stay too!
Breda was so friendly and helpful from the very first point of contact and made the stay so easy to book and her directions to the cottage were second to none. Also the little things like having milk and bread waiting for us showed how passionate she is to make this stay as welcoming as possible. We will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xarahmed
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay in the Irish countryside”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely piece of Irish countryside. We had a fantastic time at the cottage. Our puppy absolutely loved the enclosed garden. Breda was lovely and most welcoming. She gave us some good tips and pointers for places to visit too. The cottage is great - modern comforts in a lovely country setting. The wood burning stoves were the icing on the cake. The cottage was very neat and clean. Well located to visit popular destinations. We drove to Cliffs of Moher in a day trip. Kilkenny is only 10 mins away and Aldi etc just down the road. We are already looking forward to visiting again soon. Thanks Breda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in Ireland . Meeting Breda and having some nice chats showed us how friendly Irish people could be. This was the beginning of our trip and it was a lovely start.
Breda is a wealth of information and has a lovely sense of humor.
The cottage has everything you need and is in a quiet spot where you only hear the occasional moo of a cow. We didn't spend much time outside on the property as the weather was still a bit cool and damp and we basically were only there in the am and in the evening. I tell you this because the yard is lovely and there is a nice patio to sit on.
You wont go wrong picking this cottage. Many sites to visit close by.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,Cosy Cottage in a lovely spot!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We`ve just returned from 10 nights at Molassey Cottage & had a great time.We were after a quiet break & thats exactly what we got, as the cottage is in a lovely rural spot but it is close enough to road networks & amenities so that you don`t feel isolated & the cottage is equipped with absolutely everything you need.
Once we got out of Dublin,we had no problem finding the cottage as Breda supplied excellent directions & when we arrived she had the log burner going & had stocked the cupboards with essentials so that we had a relaxing start to our break & she was there for any advice & information we needed throughout our stay.
All in all,this is a great spot to discover Ireland & if you`re after getting away from it all then there is nowhere better......& .your dog will love the huge garden & woods....i know ours did !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy log burning stoves.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;