We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect country escape close to gorgeous town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EssieMcG
Sheffield, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect country escape close to gorgeous town”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed along with our 3.5 year old son. It was such a great place to stay with everything we needed. Breda has done a wonderful job with the place. Very well equipped, even down to toys and DVDs for children. We loved the privacy of our own gorgeous traditional cottage and garden but at a mere 15 minute drive to Kilkenny town. We had planned to do several days trips but loved the area so much we stayed locally and enjoyed the sites to see around the county.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything, very homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebecca G
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage, lovely surroundings excellent host”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although it has taken me a few months to finally write this review (I emailed Breda personally to express my grattitude) I would like to start by saying just how much trouble Breda went to to make our stay perfect. Putting up a Christmas tree and decorations for my arrival with my 2 children and meeting me immediately on arrival after a long journey. Ensuring WI-FI was active for the teenager which always makes things easier and providing us with some essential supplies in our welcome basket. The cottage itself is beautiful and the surroundings are lovely and quiet, which made for a peaceful Christmas break. Ideally located for myself as I have family in tipperary and Kilkenny. I can't express my thanks enough and I look forward to staying again and I would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage in it`s lovely country setting. I came with my husband and 20 year old son. My husband has two sisters in Ireland along with aunts and cousins that he wanted to visit. This cottage was a great place to stay while we planned our journeys and Breda was very welcoming and helpful. The cottage is in a lovely setting and the garden at rear is lovely and big for the family who has young children. Although we came in September, we didn`t need to light the wood burners as it always was warm enough with the heating from the radiators. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: surroundings
Liked least: pillows
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F
Longfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay at Molassy Cottage as it was in the ideal location for our stay in the Kilkenny/Tipperary areas and the reviews were very positive. When we arrived, not only was it in the perfect place for us but the great reviews were more than justified.

The very rural surroundings are quiet and peaceful and just a couple of miles away is the small town of Callan for all that we wanted. It's a friendly little town. The only thing that we needed was food as the cottage has everything else on hand for a family stay. It also has a large well maintained grass garden. For chilly nights, there are log fires to watch as well as the central heating. A lovely cottage holiday retreat indeed.

That it's this good is no surprise when you meet up with Breda who runs it all. A welcoming and friendly lady and nothing is too much trouble for her. She is the perfect host.

Will we go back again? You bet!! As often as we can. Very many thanks.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billg32n
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Irish cottage experience, done with class”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for lodging for a week in Callan to be close to family, but were drawn by the idea of a stay in an authentic thatched roof cottage. And we were not disappointed. At the end of a long drive, we had the advantage of remote quiet and beauty along with close proximity to all services in Callan. And, after seeing how cute it looked from the outside, the inside did not disappoint either. The cottage was very clean, satisfied every need, and contained every possible convenience we could have imagined, from being welcomed with milk in the fridge, a loaf of bread in the cupboard and butter softening on the counter to (of all things) salad tongs and everything in between. The landlady was a combination of professional, friendly and helpful. If an authentic rural experience is what you are looking for, you can’t miss with this one.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsholine
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure in the Irish Countryside!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful vacation staying at the lovely Molassy Cottage. It is nestled away in the countryside and is a true hidden treasure. The cottage is very cozy and romantic but yet large enough for a family of six. It is so well equipped and very clean and well kept. It has all of the amenities that you would need to have a hassle free vacation. The grounds are just beautiful and so relaxing. You are close to the village of Callan and not too far from Kilkenny. If you enjoy the countryside then you will totally love Molassy Cottage. We stayed for 10 days but could have easily stayed longer. After reading all of the reviews, we chose to stay in one place on our trip to Ireland. We have no regrets and would gladly stay there again. The owners, Breda and Joe Morris are fantastic and very helpful. You can tell that they take a lot of pride in their property and are extremely personable! The cottage is great for singles, couples, as well as families. There is plenty of room to roam and enjoy the outdoors. Truly a hidden treasure!

Jane Sholine
Lakeland, Florida USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were able to sleep in and relax
Liked least: It was all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nchaymans
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Molassy Cottage is a hidden vacation Paradise!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay at Molassy Cottage and found it to be such a hidden treasure. We fell in love with the cottage and its location from the moment we arrived. The cottage is quaint, immaculate, well supplied and has so much history and charm. The location is beautiful, relaxing and so private. Breda and Joe Morris were just wonderful and you feel like you have known them for years. They take pride in their property and have done a fabulous job restoring it and still keeping the charm. We wish that we would have booked the cottage for a month instead of 10 days. It was so hard to leave as Molassy really became our "home away from home". The location is fairly central so we got to explore all over Ireland....even a trip up to Northern Ireland. We enjoyed our walks on the property going down to the river, seeing the cattle and listening to the sounds of the birds in the mornings. The location is so peaceful and in tune with nature. We did enjoy the village of Callan, only 1 mile away. We truly got to relax and explore your beautiful Country. We couldn't haven chosen a better place to spend 10 wonderful days in Ireland and will gladly return on our next trip.

Thanks so much and Kind Regards,
Nancy Haymans
Lakeland, Florida USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and the cottage was wonderful
Liked least: NO complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing