We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in an isolated location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard H
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in an isolated location”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Breda is the perfect host - everything clean and well equipped without any fuss or worries. The location is well away from everything (except a few cows). We have 2 small dogs who enjoyed the freedom. We had a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thanks Richard & Chris hope the rest of your trip is going well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafe C
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A fantastic cottage. It is centrally located, and Callan is a great town for a good beer and good cooking.
The owner of the cottage, Breda, made us feel right at home. Breda is very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed and more.
I highly recommend Molassey Cottage and will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darragh C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Molassy Cottage was fantastic”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I had an absolutely fantastic time in molassy cottage. I proposed to my girlfriend when I was there and she said yes. I couldn't be happier. It had all the facilities that we could have asked for. The owner was brilliant and was always there for us when we needed her. She even got us champagne for our engagement and wine. Definitely deserves 5 stars. Loved every minute of it. I'd well recommend it to anyone staying in Kilkenny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this cottage! It was very well stocked, everything we needed and more. The history of this thatched roofed cottage made it more endearing! Breda was amazing and very informative! We so comfortable that once arrived from our daily visits did not want to leave! It is very accessible to Kilkenny castle and abbey great pubs and food. Also visited hookshead lighthouse amazing views great walks must do! On way back stopped at islands pub in town our lady of island fun with locals! Also visited Thomas town and Jenkins town fun walks.i would definitely recommend this cottage! Give it a try! Won’t disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paxcroft
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location for relaxing or venturing out and about.”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a perfect place for singles, couples or families to stay. Inside is surprisingly spacious with well stocked kitchen, large dining area and lounge and two good sized bedrooms. Outside is a huge lawned garden where you can play games or just relax with a good book in peace with no one else within a mile of you. From here you can reach most of south and south east Ireland within half an hour or catch the coach from Callan (1 mile away) to Kilkenny, Dublin or wherever takes your fancy. We had a lovely time and would definitely return (starting to save up now)! Breda (the owner) was always available if needed but was never intrusive. We loved it!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
1 review
“All you could ask for”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed for week in July and it was perfect,peaceful and quiet had everything you need, first time to bring dog away and she loved it great base location , can't wait to return ,thanks for everything Breda c u soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great cottage to have a lovely holiday”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is near Callan which is good for supermarkets and takeaways, Yum Yum is very good. Good for getting to Kilkenny for meals out, Wexford etc. The cottage has a lovely private garden and very pretty. Breda is lovely who owns it, very helpful and the cottage is very clean and has all your needs. Will be going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing