We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Kilkenny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendine House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendine House
Ranked #20 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Kilkenny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here a couple of nights, we enjoyed Kilkenny very much and this B and B was great. It was about 25 minutes walk from town but it was a pleasant enough walk and it was a delight to be somewhere so quiet and peaceful within walking distance. At night time it was completely silent.
Everything clean, everything working, even small bottles of water in the room, a nice touch I thought.
The owner is very welcoming, and happy to suggest places to visit, and there are many books and leaflets available to look at in the hallway. The breakfast was abundant, with a good variety of hot foods to pick from and plenty of fruit, cereal, cheese, yoghurts, jam, bread etc alongside.
Horses and sheep beside the B & B as you drive up with cherry trees alongside.
For anyone using GPS, (in June 2014 at least), it thinks the entrance is somewhere else and you could drive in a circle! There is a sign on the road, so just stay sharp for the sign! If you're walking you'll see it anyway.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butlaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Really nice house with character. Rooms were clean and spacious. Loved the old sash windows with shutters. The owner was very welcoming and friendly. Would highly recommend it. It is only a couple of minutes walk from the Newpark Hotel, perfect if you are attending any wedding receptions or the like.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed with Alan in his beautiful house on at least three occasions and as always Glendine never fails to impress. We were met the next morning with the smell of the open fire and home cooked breakfast emanating from the dining room. Alan is as genial a host as on could wish for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Glendine House is remarkable. An old home (in a very good way) with huge rooms and very tall ceilings. Alan met us and welcomed us into his home and provided us with a lovely hot pot of tea, milk and cookies. There were also cookies in the rooms and electric blankets on the beds. Heavenly. It is very quiet and calm . Alan is such a wonderful host. The House is so clean and the rooms warm. We had our best breakfast in Ireland (!) in a dining room with a fire in the grate, the daily papers and a horse outside the window. Again, heavenly. We would love to stay at Glendine House again. Alan knows how to spoil his guests and seems to anticipate our needs.
Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesotapip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had a lovely night in Glendine House B&B last weekend. Spotlessly clean room and gorgeous breakfast. It is a bit of a walk from town, but has a pub close by and is only a few minutes from the Newpark . Very generous and delicious breakfast in the morning, in front of an open fire, with morning papers. Perfect start to a rainy Sunday! Thanks very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

After harrowing day of driving thru the wicklow gap and unintentionally removing our side view mirror we landed at Alan's lovely B and B and were greeted with a much needed cup of tea and roll of duct tape. Alan helped us reattach our dangling mirror and showed us around. The room was spacious, decorated with antiques, clean, and peaceful - just what we needed. The grounds are beautiful with horses and sheep and very friendly cat (who is not allowed inside). Alan isn't all that easy to find on the internet (i wound up calling to reserve) or by car (be sure to use the gps coordinates he provides- then it is easy) but if you want to stay in period house with a charming, helpful and engaging host instead of a more modern accommodation it is worth the call. Thank you Alan for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night after the Bruce Springsteen gig (epic!) The host Alan could not have been more accommodating. Beautiful old country house set in lovely grounds; clean, comfortable and nicely-furnished rooms (with electric blankets on beds! I have NEVER seen that - even in a 5 star hotel); modern bathroom with fantastic shower. AND - because we were out all day and night at the gig and we'd had a few scoops (alcoholic beverages to any non-Irish reading this!), Alan let us sleep on and we didn't have to check out until 4 in the PM!! He had another full house that night, but some people were going to be checking-in late...so he let US check-OUT late!! What a gent. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house and as well as looking out onto lovely grounds, we could hear the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
11.5 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Butler House
Butler House
#5 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine House

Property: Glendine House
Address: Glendine House Glendine Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing