We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great!!”
Review of Mathews Tea Room

Mathews Tea Room
Ranked #5 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Kilkenny
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not great!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch on visit to Kilkenny due to trip advisor reviews. Service was nice, staff lovely. Food was just ok, coffee not good. They're biggest down fall was certainly over pricing... shocked at price. Wouldn't recommend Mathews!!

Helpful?
6 Thank tobby_wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stopped in for lunch with friends and was delighted. We all ordered the soup-of-the-day and sandwich combination, which was delicious and seemed like a very good value. The vegetable soup was thick, flavorful, and homemade and there was a good variety of sandwiches to choose from. I chose the BLT and thought the bread was tasty and the lettuce was good and crisp, but there was a bit too much mayonnaise. The service was very good as well -- very friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The interior of the cafe was clean and bright, but it was also possible to sit outside to eat. We didn't have time to try any of the cakes, but they looked delicious. I would absolutely recommend this place for a quick, casual lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Court3429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a lovely lunch with friends in Mathews. The interior is warm and welcoming, there is an additional sitting at the back of the cafe, which I didn't realize, so there is more space inside that you would think.
They had lovely choice of cakes, my friend had a lemon cake which was delicious, fresh, moist and full of flavor.
The bean and tomato soup was fantastic. I am always happy to find a place that serves really good soup and also something different from the usual veg, potato and leek, etc.
coffee was good, not the best I ever had, but OK.
Above all there was a lovely Lady there serving us, she had this genuine nice manner that is very rare and she honestly made us feel at home there.
I will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great little family run cafe, just had the most delicious proper home made soup and sambo, wife had lovely cake, very pleasant people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RycoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and yummy food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Had brunch here - I had the New York sandwich which was really yummy and huge. Really friendly staff/owner. Cakes and quiches looked good too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mathews Tea Room also viewed

Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Mathews Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing