We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutly filthy hotel”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutly filthy hotel”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Arrived in kilkenny without booking a hotel and found this one in the city. On arrival I noticed two cash for gold places across the road from the hotel (not a good sign) walked into the hotel and thought, yeah nice looking place and the girl behind the desk was very friendly. she informed me not to park my car out on the road esp. on a thurs nite!!!( not a good sign no.2) then when she asked for payment up front i started to get a bit suspicious about what cliental this hotel catered for. When we walked out of the lift to were the rooms where it was like walking back in time. The front part of the hotel is definately a front to snare people in...the 1st room we got put in was dull and dark with pillows missing from the beds. The beds were like they were made in the last century, hard mattress, pillows thin like waffers( if your lucky enough to have one!!) blankets on the beds instead of duvets.. the top blanket had a large fag burn in the middle of it, there was loose change on the bedside locker, half glass of water on the table and dirty underware in the corner of the room...then we got are 2nd room, well if i didnt already pay Id be gone. The 2nd room much the same as the 1st room again fag burns on the bed sheets, heavy dust on the headboard windows, black with dirt and please please if you stay here do not look under the beds!!! Id say it hasnt seen a hoover since the hotel opened what was under there i will not describe for the sake of those with weak stomachs!!!! We were about half hour in the room when the lights went out, we rang the receptionist who said there would be someone at the room in 5min.... 25mins later the man arrived and they were back on...the bathroom was also filty, the grout between the tiles were black and....To be honest I could go on forever with reasons why you shouldnt stay here, its a hotel for stags and hens, dont go if ur going for any other reason except going on the lash!!! and to think of some of the gorgeous places I've stayed in Ireland for less, INCLUDING breakfast, it makes me sad that I wasted €74.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkgirl2, Front Office Manager at Kilford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com, however, i am disappointed you chose not to make us aware of your dissatisfaction on check out. as i would have been delighted to have the opportunity to make it up to you.

In relation to your comments about our location we are on one of the main streets in Kilkenny City within walking distance to all shops and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. You were advised not to park on the street as this is pay for parking and we have a large complimentary car park for guests at the rear of the building. Payment or a credit card is required on arrival as this is hotel policy.

Our rooms and corridors leading to rooms are of 3 star standard and are reviewed and kept at this standard on a day to day basis. We do apologise for the human error that occured on your arrival when you were given an occupied room, as stated this was human error and should have not happened but was rectified as quickly as possible. In regards to your comments about blankets preferred over duvets this in an individual preference with the hotel preferring sheets and blankets should you have preferred a duvet this could have been provided for your room by our staff on request.

In relation to the lights in your room our electricity supply for rooms is worked by your key card should this not be put in slot inside door the lights will automatically shut off. This can be fixed by simply inserting your key card in slot provided.

Our rate of 74 euro includling breakfast and parking is extremely competitve for lthe city centre in Kilkenny.

I very much regret that you may have formed a poor impression of our Hotel, however, I am confident that your experiences would not represent the normal high standards that prevail here in catering for the needs of our guests. It is certainly not in our interest, especially in the current competitive climate, to have dissatisfied customers and that is why I am so appreciative of you bringing your experiences to my attention. I would be delighted that, if you are returning to Kilkenny, you could see fit to stay in the Kilford Arms Hotel again so that I may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Please contact me personally so that I can extend you every courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    221
    136
    55
    65
See reviews for
92
335
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

this hotel is the perfect spot everything is there, centeral close to all shopping areas free parking, very frendly staff clean rooms will be back.

Room Tip: everything under one roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Just back from trip to Ireland , we stopped in several cities on our stay in Ireland but our favourite has to be Kilkenny. a beautiful city , shops sights and their castle all a must.
We were very lucky to find the kIlford Arms Hotel right in the city centre , great location, for sight seeing, shops, nightlife etc. Very reasonably priced and staff very courteous and knowledgeable about Kilkenny and its surrounds. We were indeed delighted with our stay in lovely Kilkenny and the Kilford Arms and its staff played a major part in this.
Thanks to all We will be recommending your Hotel and your great City.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

just back from weekend away in kilkenny stayed at the Kilford with my husband From time we arrived friday at reception we were made feel very welcome and things only got better. Our room was clean and spacious, breakfast was plentiful (carvery) . We had dinner sat night it was very tasty and staff very friendly and professional
Karaoke a great craic . O.Faolains Bar a must see. All in all a great weekend We would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

just back from great weekend in Kilkenny. we stayed at the Kilford Hotel , very central great car park ideal for city break. We arrived friday evening with entertainment in both bars spoilt for choice . We had karaoke sat night , what a great laugh, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a group of girls . The staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast/dinner excellent
We will be back everything included in price great value

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I have stayed in the kilford arms hotel on numerous occasions while meeting customers in Kilkenny. The Kilford is a great find for business men like myself who need a quiet relaxing city centre hotel midweek to meet clients to discuss business.
It is a family run hotel with Pius and his team always helpful and full of chat to all his regular reps
I would highly recommend the Kilford as a comfortable, roomy hotel and if your lucky you might even get a tip for the horse racing or dog racing from Pius or Oliver.
Great friendly hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianap71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I ve stayed there with friends for a couple of nights and need to say that the hotel is warm, authentic and beautiful place to stay in. Excellent hosts, in the city center, miss Sheila is definetely one of the kindest and warmest hosts I ve ever met :) I strongly recommend :)

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bettyallblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,948 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing