We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great week end for the bank holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
“great week end for the bank holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I was in the kilford arms for the bank holiday. The room are clean and the pub, PV'S is a good pub, the karaoke is really fun, the O'Faolain is for the young people, young music, and all of that. I went to the peagasus, the kilford's night club, I've never seen so much people in a night club before, maybe it was because of the bank holiday, but it was very nice, if i can, i'll come back in the Kilford Arms Hotel with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonineG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    195
    123
    41
    58
See reviews for
73
292
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

A group of friends and I stayed here on saturday 4th June 2011. I was sharing a twin room. The room was small and old. The shower had no hot water and flooded if left on for any length of time. The reception area was nice and the staff were friendly. The bar was nice but there was a leak in the ceiling that gushed water for a few hours on Saturday afternoon. We ate in the bar and the food was very poor. I was charged 14 euro for an average burger and half a plate of string fries. I would expect better in a chipper for 5 euro! The room cost us 140 euro for one night which is extortionate for what is offered. That price did not even include breakfast which was a total joke. To sum up, The Kilford arms has a nice bar but everything else is overpriced and lacking in quality. It's a pity really because the location is brilliant, right in the heart of Kilkenny, 5 minutes from the train station.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Visited Ireland with my wife recently and when visiting Kilkenny we found this hotel on line. It is a very central hotel near the railway station which was ideal. We got a special for the wed/thur that included dinner and had no complaints there was plenty of choice on the menu and the restaurant decor is quite unusual and a change from the norm. The staff were extremely helpful and we had no complaints and would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elejbarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Had very enjoyable few days in Kilford Arms Kilkenny recently. Staff very friendly and helpful
accomodation excellent Close to Railway station and walking distance to city centre.
I had my car so I was happy to leave it in their enclosed car park.
Next time I'm touring around Kilford Arms will be a definite stop !

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maryt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Stayed here in april with a group of friends. It was a good experience from beginning to end. Check in,rooms, food & entertainment in the bar all great, we just couldn't fault anything. Position of the hotel is right in the heart of Kilkenny city with all shops & nightlife within walking distance. Will definately return to the Kilford Arms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edellllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Had to sign up and leave a comment for the Kilford Arms, my brother had is 30th there last weekend and I have to say the staff there really go above and beyond the call of duty to help you in anything you need. We're all from Kilkenny ourselves but we wanted to stay at the hotel and the staff at the Kilford were more then accomodating in providing us with fabulous spacious family rooms that were perfect for large groups like ourselves. The young girl at reception was very welcoming on our arrival and very professional throughout our stay. The party was on in their recently renovated function room and it really is lovely, along with it's own private bar which was great! The staff organised a private DJ for us also who was great. The food that we organised was reasonably priced and perfect as we were able to order exactly what we wanted and they catered for us perfectly. I really can't find any fault with the hotel and I would reccommend the Kilford to anyone! Maybe not a quiet crowd cause it's very busy at the weekends and they have a niteclub but to anyone looking for a great and lively weekend-go to the Kilford Arms!

Room Tip: They have a great group rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Stayed in the Kilford Arms as part of a family gathering over a two night period. Hotel had every facility a modern hotel could offer in terms of comfort, cleanilness,good food, extremely friendly staff and was great value for money.Hotel satff and management were extremely helpful in delivering on our stated wishes re adjacent rooms, restaurant seating arrangements etc, we were looked after very well and as a group and as individuals we look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future. Highly recommend a stay if in Kilkenny!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darragh035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing