We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed here recently with my wife and I would recommend the hotel to anybody. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly from the start to finish of our stay. The hotel is located bang in the middle of Kilkenny City and everywhere was within easy walking distance with loads of parking space at the rear of the hotel. The food was super and the portions extremely generous. There was a very good atmosphere within the hotel at all times. Overall I would certainly recomend this hotel - one of our better experiences!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    195
    123
    41
    58
See reviews for
73
292
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrick on Shannon
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

When we arrived and saw outside of building we were very disappointed. Room was ok better than expected I suppose. when we went down for dinner and saw nobody else eating it was not a good sign. The food was terrible. Everything thrown onto the plate. We had steaks with onions, mushrooms, cabbage, carrots and potato all on the plate. Cabbage stumps and all. It was terrible. Breakfast was worse again with food not half cooked. Overall it was very poor. Saw chef with cigarette behind his ear.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My boyfriend won a night dinner, bed & breakfast in the hotel from his work. It was a voucher from one of the deals so we only had a fixed time in which to use it. We chose the night of my birthday as a treat. Due to dietary requirements I tend to check with hotels if they can cater for me, especially when dinner was included. He emailed and received a friendly reply. When we arrived check in was smooth enough. (Although why we had to fill in a registration card when they had all of our details and could simply print it for us to sign is beyond me.) I double checked with reception about dinner and the receptionist seemed put out that I would even raise the issue. She simply said to inform our server and it would be taken care of. She also asked if I had anything with me that I wanted the chef to cook... Reg flag began to flag right there. That's the first time any hotel or restaurant had ever asked me that and it was not put forward in the email to my boyfriend. In fact I was hoping she'd just highlight the room to the restaurant as per the norm for reception. We proceeded to the room and every room door was open on the corridor on the way. Including ours. Our room was not fully ready. This sort of thing annoys me but from working in hotels I know it happens. We left our bags, closed the door and went exploring. We had been told not to make a dinner reservation and the restaurant served until 9. We got back to the hotel at 8pm. There was only two tables seated when we arrived. We passed through the pub (which was playing some awful tourist music) in order to get to the restaurant which had no music or atmosphere. The waiter asked first if we were residents, second if we were on a package, and thirdly if we'd sit at the bar because they had a large breakfast sitting. One hour before end of service, with two tables occupied and we were asked to leave. After being seated at a table in the middle of the bar floor we quickly asked if we could move back in because it was awful. We asked what exactly I could have on the menu and this threw the waiter through a loop. He had absolutely no idea and made no attempt to hide it at all. He went to check with the chef and advised I could have the caeser salad with no croutons or sauce (so just lettuce) and chicken with no sauce or stuffing. I asked if I could even have the soup and he replied no. This sets alarm bells off in my head as if in a restaurant if the soup and gravy both contain flour it normally indicates they are using package goods in the kitchen. We left and ate in a nice restaurant down the road. Between having no menu choices and the waiter having no idea about anything and rudely talking to my boyfriend when I was asking questions we had had enough. We returned later that night and got into bed to realise the hotel must be home to the squeakiest beds in Kilkenny! Breakfast was no better. We had different servers and although they seemed more capable than the previous night they were still pretty clueless and flustered. Considering we were told the owner was a coeliac on check in I was expecting a little more knowledge, not much, just a little. (And on a side note, if the owner was a coeliac and they had been informed before we arrived, why did no one pop to the shop to get some bread or cereal??) On check out we highlighted the issues at dinner but we received the response of: "So they didn't feed you at all? You should have spoken to the chef. He would have made anything you wanted." I'm pretty sure that's what the waiter was supposed to be doing when he was checking with the kitchen on what I could eat. Avoid this hotel.

On a side note of cleanliness. The rooms were clean on first look but when we went to plug our chargers in beside the bed there was a large section of filler in the headboard and it was manky and the bedside locker on my side was actually screwed to the headboard so I couldn't access the plug at all. There was also a notice in the room which said "A day without wine is like a day without sunshine." Next to the elevator there was a place to stub out cigarettes... how many years after the smoking ban are we at this stage to still have something like that in an interior public space? The bed clothing were in serious need of a re-vamp as they were very faded. There was the kind of film you find on bathroom windows over the bedroom windows so you couldn't even look out. Next to me at breakfast there was a wire hanging from the wall.

The best thing I can say about the hotel is the location is great. Was very easy to find somewhere else to eat for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Amaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here in June with a group of 6 girls. We had the best time, didn't actually need to leave the hotel as the nightclub is connected to it.
The hotel rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was quite good too. We have booked our next stay here already :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here two weeks ago with 5 of my friends. We really enjoyed our stay here and I would recomend it to anyone that was thinking of taking a trip to Kilkenny.

The hotel is only 5 mins from the train station so its in a great location.

We booked three twin rooms and had plenty of space in all our rooms. One of the rooms actually had a double and a single and another had two singles and a double. The rooms are very spacious also so you have plenty of room to relax or to get ready.

The staff were lovely when we arrived and couldnt have been more helpful. The hotel consists of a restaurant, a Bar, a disco bar and a nightclub so we didnt need to leave the place for the night. However if you are going to be there longer than one night like we were, the hotel is right in the middle of Kilkenny so you are close to all the amenities.

We did not eat in the restaurant but had food in the bar which was really nice, we had breakfast the next morning and it was super, even though we were late down they still served us.

Overall I could not find a fault with the hotel, we all had a really good time and I am now going back to this hotel in two weeks and down again in October.

I would recomend the hotel to anyone taking a visit to Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funbobby2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a lovely hotel. We stayed there for one night back in March and the room was very comfortable. Both management and staff were hospitable and professional without being intrusive and I loved the architecture in the back bar. The hotel is centrally located and the breakfast was very tasty. Will definitely stay there when next in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 415RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A group of us stayed here at the weekend and it was brilliant. From the minute we arrived Louise and Pius made sure all was ok for us throughout. Good pint and food. Lovely atmosphere and great bar. Thank you to the great staff. From Donal, Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123donalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing