We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely People”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Kilford Arms Hotel really is in the heart of historic Kilkenny City so all the attending conveniences are a given: The visitor is literally minutes’ walk, over the bridge, from Kilkenny Castle and all of the satellite attractions that accompany it such as the beautiful castle grounds and design centres that Kilkenny is justifiably famous for. However, it’s the people that make Kilkenny special and The Kilford Arms Hotel management and staff wholly reflect the friendly, helpful and relaxed attitude that prevails throughout the city; a word of warning though, to fully enjoy your stay, you must slow down to the local pace of life. The bedrooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are spotless and well-stocked with toiletries. Free Wi-Fi. There’s a large, free car-park at the back of the hotel. The food is delicious and great value. The bar serves one of the best pints of Guinness in Ireland and, if there’s a music session in the bar, join in. The bar-manager, Shane, is a diamond. So, have the craic (pronounced crack) it’s the Irish for fun.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the car-park as they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastidiousEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    200
    127
    43
    60
See reviews for
75
302
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Just got back form a 3 night golf break in Kilkenny and stayed at the Kilfod Arms. This hotel is a good tourist class hotel and was great for our group. The rooms were of a good size and were clean and adequate with a goodsize bathroom (shower...no bath!) The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and was served by very friendly and attentive staff. Kilkenny is a weekend party town so expect some 'party sounds and activities' during the weekends, but don't let this put you off. This is a good value hotel with very helpful staff. Diolch yn fawr iawn gan griw Dyffryn Nantlle!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hafodybryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We booked 3 rooms for a Tuesday night. We were shocked at the price, 69 euro per room and were thinking oh what are we in for??? Any way the rooms were excellent. Double bed & single bed in each room and a fair side bathroom, safe, iron & ironing board, and tea/coffee pot included. The room had a wood floor and was cleaner than clean. Totally enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Thank you Kilford Arms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToFlyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Myself and my husband booked into kilford Arms hotel we had a lovey time
A great hotel excellent location the staff were friendly and helpful rooms were very clean and comfortable the food was lovely and we had dinner in the restaurant both nights can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel with my partner and on a hen night and i wouldnt stay anywhere else!!!The staff were very helpful,the location is perfect and you have a choice of bars that would suit all ages.The breakfast was well worth the money,you can even go back for seconds!!!!Over all il defo be back before the year is over!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Rooms were not clean, snots, grime, mold on the tiles in the bathroom. Couldn't sleep as the walls and floors are paper thin, you could hear every word from the hotel front bar and the music from the adjoining nightclub booms through as clear as day.
Some really rude staff, we paid for two meals up front and had to ask the waiter numerous times as to where it was. It came out 20 mins later with cling-film on the plates and in the middle of the broccoli. The meals were hideous by the way. We presented this to him and asked if this was acceptable. His reply was "I don't know" and "I'm not the chef".

Dump, avoid as there are plenty of much much nicer places to stay in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 19th April. Room clean, staff at reception friendly and welcoming. Breakfast a disaster! Scrambled eggs so rubbery they probably bounced straight from the chicken to the microwave to the plate. If you do stay here have your breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing